January 24, 2009

  • My morning ritual

    I was reading Chris' latest entry on his morning rituals.  It's such a contrast to my morning routine.  He w akes up calm, refreshed and likely in a Zen like state.  I'm in a dopey, almost semi comatose state.

    1.  My alarm rings.  I roll over, turn it off and  zzzzz.

    2.  My bf calls me (he also calls another friend too to get him out of bed - this guy is worse than me!) to make sure I'm awake. 

    3.  I stumble out of bed, stop by the TV, debate whether to watch it or not.  If I decide to watch, it's another 15 minutes before I can get myself off the couch.

    4.  I grab the newspaper after checking through the peephole to see if there's anyone outside. 

    5.  Shower, shave, brush my teeth and look for clean clothes to wear. 

    6.  If there's time, I grab a quick breakfast.

    7.  Pack my laptop and files.  Look for my jacket, keys, wallet and rush out the door.

    8.  Get into the car.  Get out of the car.  Go back upstairs to my condo to get my office and parking badges.

    9.  Rush back to the car and make a mad dash to work.

    My solution:
    My new alarm clock:

    picture of gong:  from www.artdrum.com

    I just need to find a butler to sound the alarm, get my clothes, pack my laptop, organize my stuff and get breakfast ready.

Comments (23)

  • i hate waking up early in the morning. i think i'd be very comfortable if i woke up at 9 or later, but before that, well sometimes i cant even figure out if the day has started or i'm still dreaming. but i gotta wake up at 7 for school :(

  • usually i sleep till the last minute and rush to work

  • a routine most of the modern working people doing....while a couple of my friends will also check their e-mails, Facebooks b4 they go to work....

  • LOL...  my routines (which is non existent) is very very erratic!

  • It's all part of growing up!

  • Let's see I wake up without an alarm. Then hit the bathroom and at least wash face and hands. Then a quiet walk around the park checking the beautiful sky and stars (it is 5AM). Back for breakfast and the news. Then shower etc. Check my email - maybe chat. Then settle for my centering of the day before I dress and head out to work. I guess the only change is meditation on weekends instead of breakfast.

  • you could solve all this by retiring 

  • @carpe_diem99 - I think 8:30 is becoming a natural time for me. 

    @orchidgrass - lol... I like my sleep too.

    @agmhkg - If I wake up early enough, I can squeeze in some online time but it's just like watching TV, the time just flies.

    @Dezinerdreams - so you must sleep in from time to time too!  lol...

    @CareyGLY - I am grown up - lol!

    @Fatcat723 - hmm... if you had said you also run 5K every morning, I would have screamed. 

    @AppsScraps - lol, I wish.  My RRSP has taken a major beating! 

  • Yeah, after becoming an artist, my sleep schedule is all screwed up.  Sometimes I sleep, sometimes I don't.  Like the past two nights, I worked on the music video to get samples created. 

    Regarding your comment, making a music video can be painful, especially wil a grip of effects, but I'd think writing a book would be more frustrating.  At least with film, you get the satisfaction of watching your work and can immediately see if something is wrong.  one out of the three samples I made had imperfections.  It was the lake scene.  bah.  The other two turned out pretty nicely, however, One of the cast in the shot was only filmed with her upper body so I'm trying to create the illusion of a bottom half, lol.

  • i'm fine with waking up on my own...hm. alarm clocks scare me!

  • Funny, Matt, that your entry was inspired by mine, when my entry was inspired by your previous entry about what's happening to Xanga.  It got me to thinking, "Hmmm... maybe I'm being too topical with my entries and need to write something more reflective so Matt doesn't decide to leave Xanga."

  • @ABSOLUTmichael - I think I will always need alarm clocks.  Maybe I should try sleeping earlier.

    @alchemystfury - I used to work rotating shifts and it was tough to change shifts every 2 or 3 weeks. 

    @christao408 - lol... that's so funny!  I think your mornings are a lot more peaceful than mine. 

  • Why do you have to look through the peehole before stepping outside? ;]

    I wouldn't mind getting hired to provide those and many other services...

    ...but it takes a bit for me to get outta bed too

    =[

    you can place an alarm next to you

    and another alarm maybe a few foot away

    that used to drag my brother up

    ...and wake up the entire family :D

  • HAHAHA! Your morning ritual sounds a lot like mine...mine just involves growling     Like your gong idea...it could work    'Til The Next

  • @Devilzgaysianboi - because I'm not "decent" and I don't want anyone walking by to see me.  (It's happened once)

    If I had to hire you, I would have to hire someone else to wake you up!  lol...

  • hahaha  maybe you need this alarm clock i've seen advertised that has wheels; when the alarm goes off the clock wheels itself off your night stand and rolls off somewhere, and then you have to get up and hunt for it before you can shut it off!

    i used to be good about waking up right away in the morning, but i think over the years i've gotten more lazy in the mornings.

  • @kunhuo42 - hahahaha - I've heard about that.  But I think I would probably go to bed with ear plugs.  I always have this impression of you waking up at 5:30, stretching and then going for a run before heading into work.    

  • @ElusiveWords - hahaha  substitute 7:00 for 5:30 and you're a bit closer to the truth.

  • So...how long does the whole morning thing take?
    It looks to me like you get up 2 hours before work or something

  • that is a long routine for the morning. it's always nice to get a wake up call. maybe you should buy one of those very annoying alarms instead of the gong. heheh

  • dude, you should like you take forever to get ready in a morning, kinda like how working folks are on tv. me? 20 min to get ready (that's after snoozing for up to 30 min) and 20 min commute. done!

  • I find that the most annoying alarm sounds or tunes help you the most in waking up (though you do wake up hating that sound or tune for life). I tend to wake up easily though because I'm always excited to eat breakfast haha.

  • I am not a fan of mornings, I feel pretty good

    if I can get out the door in time to make it to the office

    without being late. Some mornings I'm even able to grab a

    quick bowl of something to munch on. My alarm clock and
    I certainly have a " love/hate relationship".

    *~matthew~*

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment