November 8, 2009

  • Sunday Silly Sunday

    I had a dream a few weeks ago.  I was playing with a young boy, perhaps 5 or so.  His father was nearby.  The kid and I were just laughing and giggling away.  When it was time for the boy to leave, the dad said to me, “I read your blog, it’s interesting.”  (or words to that effect).  He caught me off guard.  I kept asking him how he knew of my blog and how he knew it was me.  He just stood there and smiled as if that was the silliest question he heard.  I stood there while they quickly walked away. 

    Now an acquaintance did mention to me once that he saw the pictures I took of the airshow on my blog.  That startled me.  I mean, how did he know?  But he said afterwards maybe they weren’t my pictures after all.   So we continued with the rest of the conversation as if nothing happened.  But that incident sort of startled me. 

    Now this is probably silly to many of you who don’t blog anonymously.  So from now on, I’m going to be wearing a disguise when I write.  That way, no one can find out who I really am.  I’ll have latex gloves on when I type my entries.  I know about digital fingerprints.  Oopps… I have my blinds open right now, I better lower them too just to be safe. 

    But seriously… I think I’m just being silly on this sunny Sunday morning. 

Comments (30)

  • LOL…paranoid much?  :)

  • @CareyGLY - hahaha… nah, hey – you’re up early!  But I guess the proprietor of a hotel has to get breakfast ready for his guests. 

  • @ElusiveWords - LOL, we’ve got 4 and 7 year old boy’s “checked in” this weekend…that’s why I’m up early!

  • Why you need to be anonymous like that ?

  • LOL @ Carey’s comment. 

  • @vsan79 - I have deep, dark secrets. 

    @Dezinerdreams - hee hee… I always get a chuckle out of Carey’s comments too. 

  • Why you gotta be shady like that “Matt” :P

  • Haha, I know where you’re coming from; and I think anyone who has ever had an anonymous blog will too.

    I’m public now, and have generally maintained some kind of public blog for many years; but I’ve had several secret blogs as well — and if anyone came up to me IRL and talked to me about them, I would freak out.  Interestingly though, there are a few readers of CHOW who met me originally on those secret blogs — most of them are friends who I let know the real-me; but some of them were random readers of both, who just so happened to find me on both!

    :)

  • @yang1815 - hmm… I have many, many secrets to hide.   

  • @chow@ireallylikefood - hahaha… yeah, while generally can keep a poker face, I doubt if I can do it if someone would talk to me about my blog.  

  • Deep Dark secrets –I bet!!!!! Don’t we all though.

  • I’m halfway anonymous. I think it works well enough.

  • This blog use to be super secret, largely because I talk about boys on it, but lately, I care very little. I don’t care if people read it, but because I don’t care who reads it, I have to censor what I write a little bit sometimes.

  • Nice allusion to U2 in the title.  The first few times I had people approach me on the street (or, once, in an elevator) and talk to me about my blog, I was a bit taken aback.  Even though I don’t publish anonymously, I never really think that anyone is reading it, even if I know better.

  • I think it is a reasonable precautions! 2 secure your privacy!!

  • You should just start posting other people’s pictures on here claiming him as yourself.

    Throw people off a little

  • Hm. I always wonder who knows me and has seen my somewhat anonymous blog…especially bothers me when they search for my online name. Who do I know that would know to search for that? Very curious.

    But…at least I don’t have dreams about random strangers telling me they visited said blog  ^_^

  • ah..the power of the internet! =) be careful what you post! lol

  • @Fatcat723 - yeah, I think we all have our share of secrets. hee hee…

    @upandoutward - halfway anonymous?  I guess you have xanga lock or friends only to filter out the curious types?

    @christao408 - Tawn must find it somewhat amusing that folks recognize you. 

    @secade - well, you can always protect your entries if you do change your mind. 

    @ColdRice1 - ah… I was just being silly today. 

    @Wangium - lol… that’s a good one! 

    @ReeserTheShadow - hmm… I don’t check the Xanga footprints that often – they don’t really tell me much anyways.  But I would be curious if someone was actively searching for my online name. 

    @onmovement - yep… I’ve been lucky though, I’ve never had a bad experience on Xanga. 

  • hmm….  i keep my blog somewhat anonymous too, although some of you a long time ago got to see some pictures of me.  maybe i’ll have to start wearing a disguise when i type as well!  maybe we should set up an anonymous xanga writers get-together…  it would be a costume party, of course!

  • You better make sure you type in the dark too… :P

  • @kunhuo42 - a costume party!  Neat idea… but I think I just have to look to see who is wearing New Balance and know that’ll be you.    (of course that line only works if you wear New Balance shoes). 

    @TheCheshireGrins - I do all my blogging under a blanket.  hee hee…

  • I some times forget who I’ve invited to view my blog.
    I do have a blog that I post on completely privately,, things
    that are just for me… things I dont want to forget, or thoughts
    I need to get out of my head, but don’t want others to know I have.
    I however am not wearing gloves… cute. :)
    *~matthew~*

  • @ElusiveWords - hahaha  nope, sorry, i don’t wear new balance shoes…  i wear asics!

  • haha that’s why President Obama told us  ‘think before you post ‘on the internet….and on facebook add only those we really know and make full use of the privacy setting…..

  • i think the dream resulted from inner fear of being found out.  or maybe the inner secret wish for people to know that it’s you.  sometimes what we fear or wish for get in the way of our dreams.  i happened to me before.  

  • @ElusiveWords - If someone linked to you via google, it’ll usually tell you what search words they were using, too. Very interesting at times.

  • Man, you are sooooooo secretive!!

  • lol. i’d freak out if someone recognised my blog – but there’s nothing for them to recognise. i try to keep both worlds separate and avoid having any clear links

    funny post

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *