April 20, 2011

  • Xanga Meet… Matt’s version

    I read with interest and fascination at the recent NYC Xanga Meet that Alex and others coordinated.  It looked like everyone had a fun time and it seemed that most people got to make new friends.  From what I can tell, most of these folks don’t blog anonymously like I do.  So if there is a Xanga meet up and most of my subscribers and the people I subscribe to attended – would I go?  After all, it’s my Xanga world.  But what would an anonymous blogger like me do?  I used to joke I would attend in a disguise or maybe send someone over in my place.  But I think some of you might eventually clue in.  

    My imagination runs wild just thinking what folks might say.

    “OMG – you do have a really big head.”

    “Your head isn’t that big.  Your ego is.”

    “You’re shorter / taller / bigger / smaller than I imagined.”

    “You’re older / younger than I thought.”

    “You look more Korean / Japanese / Thai / Filipino / Malaysian / Indonesian than Chinese.”

    “Matt, you really look awful in that Cheongsam – especially with the slit coming up to your hips.”

    What would people ask me? 

    “So Matt, you wrote recently that you stalked folks online – did you stalk me?” 

    “Yes I did.”

    “You creep.” 

    “I mean, I was joking.”

    “You sick man, so you lied?”

    As with any Xanga get togethers, there would be many pictures taken.  It would be my new workout routine – ducking, bobbing, jumping and trying to avoid those fast prime lenses.  Of course someone will inevitably take my picture.  “Mattie… how much will you pay me not to post your picture in my blog?”  Well folks, I pay in Canadian dollars which is worth a bit more than the US dollar right now.  I might go broke…

    Maybe I’ll just have a meet up for Xangans that blog anonymously.  We’ll all sit in a room with our laptops.  But we won’t introduce ourselves to each other in person. We would all blog like crazy and try to guess who was who.  The only way we would chat is with that Xanga Meebo chat.  Oddly enough, this appeals to the geeky side of me. 

    I think I need some sleep.

     

     

     

Comments (39)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *