June 26, 2011

  • Just another brick in the wall

    So I got chewed out by my mgm’t on Friday via email.  I’m sure I’ll get it face to face when I show up for work on Monday.  I think there’s a way to be constructive when providing feedback.  But the tone of those emails pretty well made me feel like I wasn’t good enough for anything.  I tell myself they too are under pressure and everyone’s work needs to be perfect.  I’ve been treated worse before by mgm’t.  But it’s been awhile since I’ve received a blasting like this. It’s almost like getting hauled up in front of class and being yelled at by your teacher.  I was never like this when I was a manager.

    I don’t know why I let work gnaw at me like this.  Maybe I’m just a bit more vulnerable now with all the other things that are going on.  It’s quarter end.  Souls and principles are usually shunted aside as we hunt for revenue. 

Comments (20)

  • You hang in there man!

  • keep your chin up, and document everything.  For all you know, you could turn the tables on them.  severance pay is a bitch

  • New management or what?

  • I will be thinking of you a lot Matt. I hope tomorrow won’t be as bad as you think. Stand your ground, ask them how THEY would want it written and tell them to do it. Pffftt. I am sorry honey you are feeling down like this. It will be fine I know. I am praying.

  • Hang in there, Matt.  They must be under a lot of pressure and different managers have different ways.  Remembered how I need to read books to learn how to live with monster bosses?  It was like hell!  We all have our share of insensitive bosses.   Hug , hug! 

  • I had a one-on-one with one of my reports and she was commenting on one of her teammates and telling me that I tolerate her actions towards me too much and that I should get up on her face and tell her “I’m the boss” – I’m very diplomatic. I don’t do things like that but I do make people realize I have the authority when it calls for it.

    I hope everything goes well. And always keep a positive train of thought over all of these. :D

  • Stay positive my friend. Your brain can be your worst enemy.

  • :/ just have to bite the bullet sometimes…it’s stupid of them to be like that though. So demoralizing…

  • Sorry to hear about managements approach. Do stay positive in your thinking. I agree with post above that your brain and be your worst enemy.

  • Hang in there! I was lightly “spanked” by my boss during a meeting, but life goes on and I shrugged it off. There are more important things in life than working. Right?

  • hang in there matt; hopefully once the quarter ends the pressure will lessen.  it’s always tough when deadlines approach.

  • @Bricker59 - I will – thank you.

    @BenelliMan - I hope it doesn’t come to that.  I’m not sure I’ll have a huge severance pay but I have a good record so far so it’s going to look odd if they suddenly turf me out.

    @yang1815 - yeah – not new but their overlords in the parent HQ are new.

    @ZSA_MD - you’re always so kind – thank you Zakiah.

    @Closure_Theory - thank you. 

    @stevew918 - oh my goodness, I do remember!  It was very rough on you at that time.

    @oxyGENE_08 - I’m gonna stay positive and focus on what I can learn from it.

    @The_Eyes_Of_A_Painter - thank you, you’re right about the brain and all those negative thoughts I can generate.  I’m gonna just stay positive and move on.

    @pika_whoosh - yeah, it is demoralizing.  It stung but I am over it now.  Thanks!

    @Fatcat723 - thanks Rob, appreciate the monster hugs and advice. 

    @CurryPuffy - I just can’t get over the image of you being spanked.  hee hee…. thanks for the encouragement Gary. 

    @kunhuo42 - yeah, right now they are watching those quarter end results and ignoring me so far this week. 

  • I hate it when i get chewed out by work too, no matter how many times it happens.  Makes you feel awful.  What happened?

  • My manager use to pull me into a classroom and scream at me loud enough for the students to hear… sometimes, she’d yell aat me in front of students. She’d cuss and insult me, mock and belittle me as best as she could for months and months and months…. I still have nightmares about it.

  • @ElusiveWords - Ah someone’s cracking down…

  • oh no… stay strong matt!! XD a happy meal will help :)

  • @Roadlesstaken - well, they disagreed with my analysis and conclusions. 

    @secade - gosh, that’s just brutal.  Man, I hope that manager gets fired.

    @lcfu - you need to fly over and cook a happy meal for me. 

  • I’m sorry to hear to hear about that! I really hate getting feedback by email because the tone is always so hard to interpret. Hope things get better. Just do your best to try and not let work get to you at home (advice which I should take myself)! *hugs*

  • @brooklyn2028 - thank you, I hope things are going well with your new job. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *