February 9, 2012

  • Just Another Night

    I crawled into bed after a long day and closed my eyes.  Before I could even turn off the lights, she showed up again.  I could feel the mattress shift as she got on the bed.  Her breath smelled of stale beer and coffee.  She leaned over and whispered into my ear “Are you trying to get some sleep?”  I rolled over to the other side hoping to ignore her.  She climbed over me “Mattie – are you playing hard to get?”  I gave her a shove and reached for a book.  But she won’t go away “Aww are you ignoring me?  What are you reading?  Is it interesting?  Or is it boring?  Like you perhaps?”  I glared at her. 

    “So Matt, what would you like to discuss with me?”  I can chat for hours.”  I drew a deep breath and muttered “Why don’t you just leave me alone.  Why the hell are you attracted to me?”  This time that girlish voice turned serious. “I’m a sucker for guys like you.  I’ve got lots of time to spend with you.  Why don’t we go over all those things you need to do at work.  Tsk tsk… I don’t know how you’ll ever get all that work done.”  I cringed and thought about the crap that I have to go through every day.  By the end of each day I have to unclench my jaw. “I can handle work – it’s not a problem.”  “Oh really Matt?  You’re good at what you do but it doesn’t excite you.  Do you really feel motivated?  How’s the job security?  You must be worried.”  I stared back at her and said “If they lay me off, they’ll be doing me a favour.  At least I’ll get some severance.” 

    She nodded in agreement.  “And what will you do with that free time?  Oh right… you’re the filial son.  You’re going to look after your dad.  That’s so admirable.”  I looked away.  But she chuckled, put her finger on my chin and pulled my head back to face her.  “That’s a cheap shot isn’t it?  How do you handle the guilt of not looking after your dad as you try to balance work… in a job you don’t like?”  I clenched my fist and yelled  “Why don’t you go f*ck yourself and leave me alone.”  She sneered at me and laughed.  “Oh Mattie – you’re so adorable when you’re angry.  What sex toys do you have in your bedroom that I can use to f*ck myself with?” 

    I stormed out of bed, went to the living room and turned on the TV.  In a moment, the late night sports channel was showing the Top 10 highlights of the evening.  At least TV can be mind numbing.  But as I was getting comfortable, she walked in front of the TV and stood there.  I tried to peer around her.  “Get out of the way!”  But she reached over and grabbed the remote control.  “We have so much to chat about.  Relationships, sexual hangups, health issues, friends, lack of friends, money, major purchases, career goals, life goals, … oh the list is just endless!”  I walked to the kitchen to grab some water.  But I could feel her following me.  I heard a rattling noise and turned around.  “Are you looking for your meds?”  She had them in her hands and was rattling the medicine bottle.  “Here – catch!”  She tossed it at me and I lunged for it.  It was almost empty.  I took a tablet and gulped it down with some water.  She reached over to me and grabbed me gently from behind.  “You can’t ignore me forever.”  I stared into her eyes.  It was filled with pain and angst.  I almost felt sorry for her. She whispered “I can keep you company until the pills take effect. Besides, you’ll have to get up in a couple of hours.”

    She lived up to her words.  She kept filling my heads with many thoughts and stirred them around and around.  I slowly fell asleep in her arms. 

Comments (17)

  • *hug*
    i know her too well. wish i can bitch slap her outta my life. don’t give her the power to bring you down.

  • Sleeplessness is back, huh?

  • Maybe she could sing you to sleep for a change. You do have a lot of sleepless nights.

  • “What sex toys do you have in your bedroom that I can use to f*ck myself with?” – LOL The things that go through your mind. Don’t think much when you’re already laying in bed. Relaaaaaks! :D

  • I was reading that something called melatonin (check spelling) which can be purchased at any Nutritional Store would help.

  • Excellent!

    Insomnia is a beyatch!

    I know all about it. I own it. Hope you get some good sleep dear heart.

  • @BenelliMan - wow in a good way I hope.

    @caki730 - so she’s seeing other people behind my back too.

    @christao408 - I slept well during a couple of weeks off from work.  This is painful.  The other night I went to bed early, woke up at 2:30 AM, got back to bed at 5:30, woke up at 8:30, hauled myself to my desk, showered and shaved during lunch hour and back to work afterwards. 

    @Fatcat723 - Yeah, there’s been quite a few sleepless nights. I don’t like taking medication during the week.  I’m starting on melatonin too but thank you for suggesting it as well.  I think I need to resume my gym routine too.

    @oxyGENE_08 - I don’t have any toys. *innocent look*  I’ll try to relax.

    @kev1nccho1 - lol… great, now that I’m thinking about it, I can sleep.  Grrr….

    @yang1815 - xxx

    @ZSA_MD - thank you, one of these days I’ll overcome this.  Thanks too for the rec.

  • just to let you know, Matt… benadryl is the most mild form of sleep aid – even more than melatonin. but the very best things to help are what you already know. regular schedule. eating well. cutting back on caffeine after a certain time. exercise. but i totally know you can still have racing thoughts that can keep you up. i hope things get better and you’re able to sleep more and continuously.

  • If this wasn’t serious, I’d say I can send one of the Js over. Johnny, Jack, and Jim like to keep me company.

    Be strong! 

  • @caki730 - I’ll have to check out benadryl.  I think I need to do a lot more excercise now.  Otherwise I’m just a zombie in the morning.  I used to be a morning person (at work between 7 and 7:30 AM).  Thanks for the tips, reminders and thinking of me. 

    @beowulf222 - ah… my brother in arms. 

  • i used to have those nights.  if i let myself, i could go back to the old routine.  but i don’t miss it.  so i won’t.  i find frequent and regular trips to the gym, though as hard as it may be, really helps.  when the body is in the state of fatigue, chances are the mind would follow suit.  when that happens, one eventually long to close eyes and rest.  not to say that it would happen at an instant, though.  it took my mind a while to adjust to such a change, to not have the many thoughts overrule what the body craves, but it eventually gave in.  i resisted the pill path, fearing that i won’t be able to go back to the natural way.  glad to say i sleep better now a days.  enough to say that i have rested.  so hang in there and keep on trying.  i know it’s damn hard when your mind won’t stop operating, but i know you can do it.  whatever you do, please avoid all possible caffeine intake as well as pills.  when one body gets used to them, it can be difficult habit to break.

  • Seen “her” many times in my life. Great read!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *