August 27, 2012

  • Taiwanfest 2012 Toronto

    J and I went to Taiwanfest atToronto’s Harbourfront over the weekend.  It was hot and sticky weekend.  The breeze coming in from the lake helped a bit.  But I was still sweaty and sticky at the end of the night.  There was food (I gorged on most of it before I even had my camera out).

    I think this was sausage w/ sticky rice.

    This was another sticky rice wrapped in lotus leaf that has been steamed.  The inside had pork, peanuts, chestnuts and other goodies.

    There was stuff for kids to do. 

    This toy was not operated by battery.   Ok ok… it’s a spin top.  It was trickier than it looks.  While I was watching, there was one middle aged woman who seemed to be very good at it.  A lot of folks weren’t able to master it. 

    Members from the Wild  Harvest Music of Taiwan (aboriginal music)

    Tap dancing from Dance Works from Taiwan.  Despite the heat, they were quite energetic. 

    I did some digging and found out they do some pretty neat stuff.

    Thank goodness we were able to escape the heat by catching a documentary called Baseball Boys.  It’s about a boys baseball team from a small school in Taiwan.  The movie does have subtitles although the trailer below doesn’t.

    We also saw a couple of musicians on Friday and Saturday night.  I have never heard of any of them before although J knows the Mandopop stuff a lot more than I do.  They had a competent house band performing with them.  I don’t understand the language (a few songs were in English) but that didn’t really matter.  I had almost forgotten I enjoyed watching live music.  It’s been awhile.

    Yen J – interesting jazz pop musician. 

    The next night we saw Victor Wong Pin Kuan.  He is more well known and a bigger draw than Yen J.  His deep and smooth voice charmed everyone.  He also knew how to work the crowd and kept a steady banter all night.  

    At one point, he took out his smart phone and filmed the audience.

    Some of the band members.

    I learned a few tough lessons on photography.  I was playing around with my aperture setting during the 2nd day and forgot to reset it for concert.  I didn’t pay any attention to it until about halfway through the show.  I changed it back to where I wanted.  But sometime during the show, I messed it up again while fumbling around.  I had my flash with me but the pictures that worked best were without the flash.  The lighting for the 2nd show seemed a bit dimmer than the first.  I’m not sure why.  As a result, a lot of pictures of Pin Kuan were blurry. Also at one point during the show, I figured I better get my spare memory card ready in case I need it.  I knew it was securely stored in one of the many pockets in the bag.  I never did find it. 

    Growl… I was a bit red from being angry with myself.

     

Comments (28)

  • Overall it sounds like you had a good time!! Yayy!! Let’s put on our hats, fake mustaches, and sunglasses and go on a photo safari.

  • Your third sentence confuses me a bit… Looks like a fun time, though.

  • Music. Art. Food. Games. This post had it all.. 

    The sausage really calls out to me right now. Damn late night cravings :(

  • @beowulf222 - but we’ll have name tags right?

    @christao408 - good catch, I just fixed it. I should never do my entries when I’m half asleep and already in bed.

    @Devilzgaysianboi - I also had noodles w/ pork and  a green tea slush w/ red bean. 

  • Wow – sounds like a great time! I would have loved the music after eating my way through the menu.

  • Pretty cool. My sister is moving to Mississauga. Maybe she will get to see this kind of fun stuff. She is attending the U of T. Lovely post :)

  • @ElusiveWords – Naaah, name tags are for whussies! Let’s both wear blond mustaches.

  • I wish there’ll be a similar event like this in LA.  We should go on a photo shoot someday too!

  • Really nice! So you’re Taiwanese well you’re Canadian but TW hehe :)

  • @ElusiveWords – *green with envy*
    I want!! :o

  • My nephews who live in Taiwan have done tap-dancing. I guess it’s a big deal over there.

    I was pretty good with a top when I was a kid. Our neighborhood in Medellín, Colombia, used to go through fads: yoyos, slingshots, kites, marbles, tops. I bought the biggest and smallest tops from the town barbershop, and could make both of them spin. The biggest was about three inches tall, the smallest about  an inch.

  • I forget to reset my camera to auto. Yesterday I was doing a video of my little grandson and then when Shelley was taking pictures of my and the gathering at their home, the setting was still on video and many pictures didn’t come out good.

    Regarding the top ( the toy without the battery), that’s all we played with at home. I was pretty good at it and yank the twine and make the top play on an outstretched palm. Never knew that tops came with batteries.

  • Fantastic photos, Matt! I would love to go to a fest!

  • I don’t think Taiwanese food really uses lotus leaf.  They use bamboo leaves.  It’s because we are too poor to have a pond in our land to grow lotus.

  • My old girlfriend and her brothers took up tap dancing in the 60′s. They auditioned for the remake of “Lost Horizons” and got a tap dancing sequence in the movie.

    Choreography is both jazz dancing and tap dancing. I wonder if Taiwan has some tap dancing movies?@CurryPuffy - The Taiwan lobby is pretty strong in Los Angeles and you should check out their PR. I suppose you want more famous Taiwan actors and tap dancing? In September the comicom people will be having a convention in Los Angeles and that is probably not what you are looking for?

  • Yen J is obviously way cuter than Victor, I can’t understand why he isn’t more of a draw on the audience! haha

  • Did you see me and run away from me again?  I was there at the Aboriginal singing, Yen-J concert AND Victor concert!!  I got the 鹽酥雞 (Salt & Pepper Chicken) but on the second day, the person in front of me in the line got the last way!! 

  • @tomatoboi - Because Victor is a way better singer!  Gosh, Yen-J while a good entertainer did not have a strong voice!

  • @brooklyn2028 - lol  – omg really? I didn’t see you.   I even keep an eye out for you at Loblaws and T&T.  Speaking of Loblaws, I have to get some stuff there later on so maybe I’ll bump into you there. 

  • @Fatcat723 - there was a steady line up for the food.  I didn’t understand the mandarin lyrics but the music was pretty good.

    @Ikwa - it’s a bit of a drive to get downtown Toronto from Mississauga (depends on traffic).  But there are lots of activities that she’ll enjoy. 

    @CurryPuffy - do you go to the 626 Night Market?  I would love to go on a photo shoot with you and W.

    @oxyGENE_08 - nope, I’m not Taiwanese.  Keep guessing…

    @Roadkill_Spatula - a lot of kids had a puzzled look when they first saw it but they didn’t hesitate to try.

    @ZSA_MD - I was just joking about the battery.  It seems that almost every toy has one nowadays.  Some of the kids that tried the top probably never saw one before.  As for the camera – it’s so frustrating sometimes when I forget these settings. 

    @KevEats - thanks Kevin.  I hope you have some time to check out the festivals in and around Winnipeg.

    @Wangium - you’re right, come to think of it, it wasn’t lotus leaves.  This was different – long and narrow. 

  • I’d go someday to the 626 NightMarket, ’cause I heard it’s a dud, so no hurry. LoL 

  • you making me missing taiwan.

  • @tomatoboi - I’m not sure, this is the first time I’ve heard either singers. 

    @secade - and more food!  Were you hungry?

    @brooklyn2028 - I will have to practice my elevator pitch in case I bump into you.

  • @rudyhou - I think that’s where you should go for your next vacation. 

  • @ElusiveWords - matt, my next vacation is HK!!  

  • @ElusiveWords - Not good in guessing games. Show face and I’ll tell. Haha

  • @ElusiveWords - Darn!  I was gonna go to Loblaws last night and didn’t end up going!!!  One day I’ll bump into you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *