November 4, 2012

  • Distillery District – quick snapshot

    I played tour guide for a couple of my relatives a few weeks ago.  These pics were taken at the Distillery District.  This old part of Toronto dates back to 1832.  The distillery there started at 1837.  It continued until 1990 when it stopped and became a film location.  It then transformed into a arts and culture / retail / tourist attraction.  There’s more history here in this link.  It’s a pedestrian only place and it’s small enough to be easily seen in a half day or so.  It was a cool & bright sunny afternoon when we eventually got there.  Due to time constraints, we didn’t spend a lot of time there.  It’s a nice place to explore with a brewery, galleries, restaurants, and interesting stores.  

     

    A lot of the parts from old machines from the sites are on display.

    I wanted to hang a for sale sign on this truck… “just a bit of surface rust”

    But my conscience was guided by a higher being.

    There’s some interesting modern sculptures here.

    I think this was near a day care centre.  I wonder if any of the kids have nightmares about this thing.

    That’s it… back to my Sunday chores.

Comments (13)

  • Interesting place to explore, Matt! I like your second photo!! :)

  • I like the last one, I love shooting into the sun :)

    I went there back in 07, it is a very neat place :) wish I could have met up with you this past trip..maybe next time!

  • Thank you for the quick tour. I would certainly love to spend time there.

  • Nice. More and more cities conserve once old industrial areas and hip them out with restaurant business. 

  • huh, what an interesting place to wander around.  i love when they take these old spaces and revitalize them…  so much history to explore and learn about.

  • The all-seeing eye.

  • @CurryPuffy - thanks Gary, there was another photo I did of the window but it had my reflection. 

    @XtremePsionic - you were here when I had relatives visiting.  I think if we met, I would drive you crazy with so many questions about photography, cars and how to be organized and clutter free. (ok – maybe not the last one). I never took pictures into the sun until I saw your pictures.  I liked how this one turned out.  If I didn’t centre the sun behind the red eye, it would just be a silhouette.  I’m going to try shooting more into the sun. 

    @Fatcat723 - you would love visiting this place.  Some of the modern art paintings in the galleries are puzzling though (at least to me).

    @beowulf222 - I agree.  It’s an important part of the urban fabric. 

    @kunhuo42 - yeah, I didn’t even realize that there was a wharf here.  The lake came up to this area (which has since been filled in).  I wish we had more areas like this here.  Montreal and Quebec City are better.

    @secade - I see you!

  • Interesting art pieces

  • The next to last was kinda creepy

    Otherwise, great photos…. especially the last one and the 3rd from the bottom xoxo

  • love that Buddha sculpture (made before he got less girly-looking and way fat obviously).

  • What was it distilling?  I hope it’s water.  We could always use more clean water for our mad scientist experimentation in UT.

  • @ElusiveWords – I’m sure readers would prefer the one with your reflection in it! :)

  • @oxyGENE_08 - yes although I sometimes am a bit confused by some of the modern art.

    @Want2FitIn2Fat2Fit - thank you for visiting,  yeah – that sculpture was creepy and nightmarish. 

    @ThankfulEveryDay - I think the statue was on sale – you don’t want the Buddha with the big belly?  lol…

    @Wangium - it started out as a distillery for whiskey and spirits and switched to rum in the late 50′s. 

    @CurryPuffy - hahaha – I don’t want to scare anyone.  Besides I had my camera covering most of my face.  hee hee…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *