November 12, 2012

  • Cars and hormones

    I like cars but I’m not very knowledgeable about cars like Lucas or Andy.  I’m not a mechanically inclined though.  I can check my tire pressure & fluid levels and that’s pretty well the extent of my mechanical skills. Oh – I can also change the wiper blades.  The other day, I went to the garage to change my summer tires to my winter tires.  The guys in the garage don’t mind when the customers go to the back.  So I watched them work on my car and chatted with them.  They were very patient with any questions I had which I really appreciate. There was another customer there with the same model car as mine although his is a later year.  We poked into each other’s car.  He had Momo steering wheels and Recaro seats which were really nice.  By coincidence I also bumped into my cousin at the garage.  He also knows the mechanics so it was like a boys night out at the garage.  All that was missing was a poker game, cigar and whiskey.

    Later that day I went with J to get his new winter tires.  As we were pulling into the lot of the tire place, I saw Acuras, Lexus, Civics, a VW GTI, a couple of Bimmers, Subaru BRZ etc… I told J “I bet there are a lot of Asians inside.”  I was right.  Even the staff were almost all Asians.  There was another BRZ that pulled in and the driver was barely out of his teens.  I can’t believe he drives that although they aren’t that expensive.  While we were waiting, I just stared at the Asian guys rims on display and the nice cars outside.  J and I dropped in on a dealer afterwards to check out a car he was interested in.  To J, he feels a car is only a vehicle that gets him from point A to point B safely.  He doesn’t get excited about them.  I pretty well fondled all the new cars even though I wasn’t in the market for a new car.

    It was a nice car day.  I feel so manly now.  I think I’m gonna put on my jock strap. 

Comments (21)

  • lol. I know a lot about cars because I read about them everyday. People at work always asks me “Dude you buying a new car?” “no.. I just like reading about them!”

    I’m too cheap not to do some of the maintenance myself :)

  • Haha you sound like me when it comes to knowledge of cars. I know enough to keep my car running smoothly and that’s about it. Sounds like a sweet day, though. =)

  • I can fill the car up with gas! That’s pretty much it haha. I’m not really into cars, but one of my friends is. And LOL @ the jockstrap comment.

  • Cars confuse me. I’d like to learn more about them but I just hate driving so much….

  • In light of the title of your post and the fondling comment, there’s a tacky comment to be made about the juxtaposition of jockstraps and new cars…but, I won’t make it…cause I’m classy (like ’57 cadillac!). I like cars and I find lots of aspects interesting; however, I don’t understand the intricacies of high performance–you can’t go faster than the speed limit anyway, right?

  • Seems to me you’re quite a car guy.  You can name the popular cars by their model name, such as BRZ, GTI, etc. Most of the time, I tend to gravitate towards a nice sporty car when I spot one in the parking lot.  Guess you know what I mean. *wink*

  • Funny you! I hope J appreciates the jock strap.

  • I am like J but I do know that to many men the car is an extension of his p***s!

  • I’m with J on this one. Cars, while they can be beautifully designed, are a tool designed to transport people and things. The decision about which one to buy should be made rationally. The money saved should be used for other important things like eating good food and traveling! =D

  • I am the same with J.  Don’t care about cars that much.  As long as I can get from point A to B.  Speaking of which, I want to take another roadtrip.

    Perhaps to Canada. (west coast)

  • People who only think cars are only to get from point A to point B better stay out of the fast lane.  Seriously…if you can’t tell the difference between driving a Corolla and a BMW, then you really should take public transit.  End Rant.

    On another note: Go wear that jock strap, and take a photo of you in it. =P

  • I can not WAIT to get my first car !!!!!

  • Lol Asian cars ftw

  • Sounds like you had a good manly bonding session. A bonding session, whether it’s perceived gay or striaght, is always a good thing. Asians tend to drive Japanese cars and everyone else seems to enjoy European or American cars, eh? It’s the same here in Sydney – you’ll find that the predominantly Asian suburbs have many Japanese cars, the hick areas have the ‘national’ cars, and the affluent areas (which includes a mixture of everyone) have many European cars.

  • @XtremePsionic - I think you’re smart to do all that maintenance by yourself. 

    @oOMyRunningLogOo - cars, bonding and laughter all made it a very good day.

    @hilabpartnerxD - I’m the same at a h/w store.  I like to look at all the tools but I only know how to use a hammer and screwdriver.

    @secade - as long as you’re a safe driver, you’ll be fine.  I don’t like driving in the city a lot.

    @TutelageOfTheMundane - that’s true – what’s the use of buying a car that can go 2x or 3x the speed limit when you can’t do it.  I know some people will take the to the track but those folks are in the minority.  I think it’s a status / ego thing to know that you own a car that can go very fast. 

    @CurryPuffy -   What car are you driving now?

    @beowulf222 - he’ll just snap those straps. 

    @Fatcat723 - that would explain the people who own stretch limos.

    @christao408 - as a Civic owner, I agree.  While I’ll drool over those nice sports car, I doubt if I’ll ever buy one. 

    @Wangium - Vancouver and Vancouver Island are nice  to visit. 

    @an_acute_angle - thank you.

    @inchyguy -  slow cars in the fast lane – drives me nuts.  There’s no way I’m posting a picture of me in a jock strap – lol!

    @Want2FitIn2Fat2Fit -  get something that is safe and low maintenance. 

    @oxyGENE_08 - of course!

    @stepaside_loser - I’ve always like Honda cars.  And yeah – it was a good bonding experience, I really enjoy these simple things.

  • @ElusiveWords - Snap the straps? Ouch! To get back to the topic of cars, I’ve started to develop a liking for “youngtimers”, i.e., cars from the late 1970s/1980s. 

  • @ElusiveWords – I have a SUV Toyota and a 370Z :)

  • @CurryPuffy - WOW!!!!  Drools.  Oh I would love to take that out for a spin.  Gee… and you have this reputation here for being so quiet and conservative. 

  • @ElusiveWords – come to LA and take a few spins!! :)

  • after the strike out… all I saw was ‘ASIAN GUYS RIM’

    are jock straps that manly? i think of gay guys when i hear those words together

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *