March 17, 2013

  • Zombie at work

    I work around 60 to 70 hrs a week now.  This includes weekends.  It’s taken a toll on my health and emotional well being.  On Friday, J came over after work to cheer me up and drag me out to dinner.  We ended up at a French restaurant after walking around a bit.  I was so hungry I ate everything except for 1 small piece of bread.  It was a relaxing and quiet dinner.  I even had a glass of wine with dinner.  The next day,  I woke up early but got very sleepy and tired in the afternoon.  J came over and we picked up my cousin to grab a bite to eat.  It was good to chill out with my cousin and we all had a nice dinner with the usual jokes and insults flying all over the place.   

    At dinner tonight, dad sensed work was still bothering me but he was at a loss for advice.  I wish I had stayed longer after dinner to chat with him.  But I had to get back to my work. 

    Really, I’m a zombie now.  I have to be this way to put up with the crap.  I started to look around at different resources for career planning, job search and so on.  The most common advice is to find what I’m passionate about.  I stared at the screen and couldn’t come up with anything, not one thing.  That really scared me. Then I got angry with myself for letting this happen. 

    Does anyone want to hire an anonymous blogger? 

     

Comments (17)

  • When you are young, you can work long hours. Hopefully it will be enough money for you to quite when you have had enough.

    Hopefully you have transferable skills to do other types of work that is less tedious. A lot of people who stop work think that they will be hired again…surprise that your skills may become obsolete very fast.

    Good luck in work balance.

  • @PPhilip - I do have some transferable skills – mostly management and people skills.  As for $, I don’t know if I have enough to tide me over for a safe period of time (1 yr?) until I find something.  

  • Well, I’m glad to hear that you have been browsing around, in the right places.  I hope pretty soon you’ll encounter someone who’ll show you the ropes. :)

  • @ElusiveWords - My friend who is out of work is not lucky with her friend’s network. Sometimes people who you become friends with can be the very ones who help get you a job. It is good to be independent but sometimes help can come from friends and associates.

    Also it is location. Definitely Detroit is not a good location for jobs.Then again maybe you want a job that is enjoyable and well paying….those two do not necessarily go together.

  • WOW you work a lot, I wish I was that busy at work to avoid all the temptations and forget about my life for a minute. I need your motivation.

  • Seems like you are reaching the danger zone, Matt. While I like the idea of finding a job you are passionate about, I think that may be a stretch for most people. Instead, just finding a work environment that where you feel like you have the resources (including time) to accomplish what you need to, and nice people with whom to work, may be enough. As an unemployed person, I may not be the best person to give advice, but if you’d like any assistance reviewing your resume or talking about job options, just let me know.

  • To me it sounds like time to get serious about a new job. Redo the resume. I would accept Chris’ help. I really have no suggestions other than my prayers and support.

  • working long hours in an environment like that is a killer. as @christao408 said, you are starting to reach a danger zone not just in terms of fatigue but your peace of mind will get pushed to its limits. 

    the only thing i can say is just to really bat down the hatches. and if you can find anything that can even sustain you in the most minimum way possible, take the opportunity and leave your current job. 
    “bridge” jobs are very very important in this respect. i get so mad whenever I hear of otherwise easy going people having to go through the stuff you are going through because I know what it’s like. just hold on matt. 

  • We all reach that point sometime. Trust me, I’ve told myself I’ma start looking for another job but somehow my friends at work makes me want to stay and not care (for a while) about all the crap I am in. :p It’s about finding a good balance but it’s really nice to find something that we’re passionate about but that’s not always the case. Good luck Matt :)

  • 60 to 70 hours a week is a lot of work. Take sometime off Matt. No one is indispensable. Let them realize how good you are. You need time for yourself. you and J should get out for even like a long weekend, and just chill.

  • ME!! ;)  wow matt, you really need a break.  i know a lot of people work that hard but they also need to spare themselves a vacation now and then.  that should boost your energy up and get you back into the swing of things.

  • Matt, glad you start thinking and looking. Your current job is ruining your health, your time available with dad and J. God forbid if you lose all because of your health and sanity. Have you looked into the indeed.com site. There usually a lot of jobs there. I would also consider a head hunter? I mean the people who help to connect you with jobs. The time is now, my dear. Hug hug!

  • @CurryPuffy - I hope so too.  Perhaps what I need is a sugar daddy.

    @Kliente2 - It’s fear that is driving me right now.  We get raked over the coals if we don’t deliver.

    @christao408 - I am very close to being burnt out especially when the constant feedback I get is negative.  I was talking to J the other day about my next job, maybe it can be a straight forward 9 to 5 job with a lot less $.  I just want to regain my life.   I’m grateful and very appreciative of your offer – I’ll reach out to you… thank you Chris.

    @Fatcat723 - your prayers and support are always appreciated Rob. 

  • @l0311879l - Michael – thank you for the support, yeah – I’m close to burning out.  It’s hard to work when mgm’t isn’t as supportive as I had expected.   I know I’ll survive.  I think of all the crap my parents had to go through when they came to Canada.  They had us to support and I doubt I could do that. 

    @oxyGENE_08 - hey Gene, thank you – I could use all the luck right now.  I hope things at your workplace will get better. 

    @ZSA_MD - it’s very difficult to get some time off right now especially when I’m behind in my work.  I don’t really get along w/ my manager who has a very short fuse. I really want / need to take a bit of time off.

    @rudyhou - Rudy, I accept your job offer!  I do need some time off, it’s been brutal here.

    @stevew918 - thanks for that tip Steve.  I hope to start polishing up my resume in the next few weeks. 

  • @ElusiveWords - Just waiting for the official announcement about the day of integration…

  • Sometimes when I come home, I just lie down in the bed and listen to some music and think of nothing.

    It really helps me unwind.
    What do you do in those situations?

  • @Wangium - I don’t remember the last time I had some quiet time to unwind. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *