May 15, 2013

  • 16 Random Facts About Moi

    Ben aka (#laytexduckie) tagged me with this 16 random things about myself.  I’ve done a couple of these before and always feel uncomfortable talking about myself.  But it’s Ben and who can resist anyone with his good heart, charming looks and a warped sense of humour?

    1. While I work in the IT industry, I’m not a technical person at all.  I’ve somehow managed to survive.  I’m more interested in the people aspect of the business.  I don’t think my next job will be in the IT industry, I got into IT by accident and it’s not my passion.

    2.  I can speak very basic Cantonese (dad says I speak it with an accent).  I can write some basic Chinese characters (numbers).  I speak even less Mandarin.  I can sort of understand Toisan. 

    3.  I may be gay but I’m missing a few “gay genes”.  I have absolutely no sense of fashion.  I was mistaken for a homeless person before.  I thought I was dressed shabby chic.   Don’t ask me for decorating tips either.  Once you’ve seen my place, you’ll understand.  Dancing and singing aren’t in my genes either.  I think if I ever went to a club, the bouncers would slip me a $20 to leave. 

    4.  Facebook – sorry, I don’t do Facebook.  Which means I’m some sort of deranged sociopath who will stalk, rob, murder and then blog about it. 

    5.  I have another secret blog.  Just kidding.  laughing

    6.  Automatic vs manual?  It‘s manual (standard) for me.  I like the feeling of being in control and being a bit more aware of what is happening around you.  I have yet to master the art of heel toe downshifting though. 

    7.  Pain – I have a very low pain tolerance.  Don’t nibble on my nipple.  I’ll watch S&M but you won’t catch me doing S&M.  Whenever I get an injection or go for a blood test, I have to mentally control myself.  A visit to the dentist (unless it’s just a checkup) will send my blood pressure rocketing. 

    8.  Prior to blogging, I never was interested in writing.  There’s something about crafting a story that fascinates me.  I love how words can heal, hurt and humour (this is the Canadian spelling of humor).  Words can reach into your heart, tickle it, touch it and tease it.  A good writer can conjour up images, emotions and keep you engaged as you walk through the storyline. 

    9.  It’s only #9?  Why did Ben ask for 16?  Who is Ben?  Why do I like him?  Well – he does have a crazy sense of humour.  And so do I.  I don’t mean a sick sense of humour.   But witty, creative, bizzare, silly, juvenille, slapstick, dry… I love them all.  If you can make someone laugh, you have a special gift.  Laughter can help heal too. 

    10. I remember as a kid wondering what it would be like to have the power to be invisible.  But I was a smart kid.  What would happen to my clothes?  Since they can’t be invisible I logically concluded I would have to be butt naked.  This of course led to a lot of unhealthy fantasies for a young boy.  And no, I’ve never been to a nude beach. But if I was invisible, I would stalk all of you.  As you’re reading this, I’m standing right beside you with an invisible iPhone  iPad to protect my modesty.

    11.  I’ve never been in a fight in my entire life.  It’s not something I’m proud of.

    12. Cat or dogs? I like cats.  Meow… purr…. hiss.

    13.  I’m sure I turned gay when I was a young boy.  I poked at the breast of a rather well endowed aunt and asked “what are these”?  My mom was standing beside me and slapped my hands off her breast.  I was so surprised and hurt.  Why can’t I ask? If I had to touch a woman’s breast now, I know that memory would come back and haunt me again and again.  That’s why I swing the other way.  I’d probably run away if a large breasted woman came after me.

    14.  Is it #16 yet?  Holy cow… I never learned to ride a bike until I was an adult.  We never could afford one.  You grow up quickly when you realize that it’s even senseless to ask your parents to buy a bike.  Once I learned to ride a bike, I lost all interest in buying one.  Well – it’s partly because I live in the downtown area and I’m paranoid about riding in the streets.

    15.  I share more on Xanga than I do in real life. 

    16.  Oh finally!  Oh wait, #5 wasn’t a fact.  I like watching car racing although I don’t follow F1, Indy Car or Nascar every week.  I just don’t have time.  But when I’m behind the wheel of my shopping cart at the supermarket, I’ll race you to the cashier.  But I’ll do it very discreetly and smile at you when I cut you off.  If you’re tailgating me, I’ll fart.

    17.  I like rice.  I’ll have white rice with my fried rice.  I’ll have rice with rice noodles.  Congee and rice – why not?  When I was growing up, my parents would always urge us to finish our rice and reminded us how fortunate we were to have rice.  It’s hard for me to leave a partially eaten bowl of rice behind in a restaurant.  Unless I’m really, really full… *burp*

    So there you have it.  16 random facts about me.  I was going to include a picture of me but I can’t find any.   I have to tag others but I’ll leave it up to you to take on this challenge.

Comments (29)

  • Never tried heel-toe downshifting before

  • Hey, it’s me in the first sentence!!

    2. I’m the same way… except I do not understand any Toisan… unless the word in Cantonese sounds like how it does in Toisan.
    6. I only know how to drive auto, but I’ve always wanted to learn manual. I like driving and I want to be more engaged and be one with the car. 
    9. Hah, well, you need to hear me in person. I can have a sick sense of humor. But, I tone it down so I don’t make people vomit. Or cringe so badly their faces hurt. Or… you know… keep friends. 
    13. I remember at a young age when I poked my cousin’s breast. I was curious why she had these “lumps” on her chest and I didn’t have any on mine. I didn’t turn gay, however. 

  • @BenelliMan - Yay to you too – hope things are going well Dennis. 

    @npr32486 - I need a quiet road to try this, I would be too nervous to try this with traffic all around me.

    @laytexduckie - that has got to be one of my longest entries. 

  • I heel and toe like a race driver!

    Interesting facts about you, but please quit standing beside me naked :p

  • I don’t care for facebook either. I love the way you have described your feelings about written words how they heal and hurt and humour you.

  • My Chinese cantonese misses the right intonation. I learned writing pretty well enough to read more Chinese than to speak it. I also worked on the PinYin dictionary so I know some of the simplification that Taiwanese don’t use.

    I can drive both automatic and stick.

    My place is not neat but I don’t mind housework straightening out and cleaning.

    I learned computer programing in the early 70′s but never put it to use.

    I was reading that brown rice could have more pesticides than white rice (things you learn when you read Manga.)

    Facebook is sort of in hibernation. Not much happening there but more action here at xanga.

  • i dont do fb either

  • @laytexduckie - thanks for the rec too! 

    @XtremePsionic - I can’t seem to get the timing right consistently, it’s still hit and miss.  I need more practice on empty roads, I don’t want to practice near anyone. 

    @ZSA_MD - as a poet, you’re a master at using words, much like a painter uses colours.  Thank you for the rec as well. 

    @PPhilip - I always thought there’s more action on Facebook.

    @buddy71 - we’ll have to start our own No FB club. 

  • :( Maybe I’m conceited, but I feel like #5 has something to do with my alter-blog. 

    I like number 13 a lot. Super funny :]And for the BDSM thing… you make it sound like watching S&M is something like watching a movie. It’s okay. you can be the Dom

  • You forgot to mention that you have a ghost living in your apartment

  • @Devilzgaysianboi - I was thinking of that when I wrote #5.

    @Nostra_Damus - the ghost has been quiet lately.

  • Fricken hilarious post! :D

  • This is cool. I want to be invisible too oh and to teleport. :) A little girl grabbed my crotch when I was in HS, I wonder what happened to her? Hehe

  • i haven’t driven manual in a long time. it’s fun! interesting facts matt! although, id like to see if the bouncers do indeed pay you to leave a club due to your style of dress! 

  • #6 – I think you should have to be able to drive a manual transmissioned vehicle to get a drivers license…but I don’t know what heal toe shifting is =/

    #10 – as long as you don’t stand behind me and look over my shoulder…that’s going to be on my list, it drives me nuts.

  • OK I am with you on numbers 3 -4 – 11. I am a dog person though. Oh and I do enjoy driving a stick at times.

  • Somehow I knew most of this already… I must of learnt all this over the years and kept it in my brain…. I also knew you’d mention S&M somewhere

  • Im totally with you in # 15 lol… I share WAY too much sometimes, I sometimes feel kinda embarrassed the next day when Im fully awake (blogging aftert 2am is not really a good idea). But you know, since I dont like to show vulnerability to those close to me (they only see the fun person) to express myself and to share my life in details is somehow necessary.  I guess besides my ex partners, the only people who knows who I really am inside are my readers. And now you got me inspired to blog about random facts haha ;p

  • Hey I’m gay too. Want to text my number is 2102550993

  • @kachino - I’m glad you liked it. 

    @oxyGENE_08 - teleporting would be great but I want to make sure there aren’t any technical glitches. 

    @l0311879l - I’m a club’s nightmare – don’t dress well, can’t dance and too cheap to buy drinks.

    @mlbncsga - I promise not to stand near you.

    @Fatcat723 - hahaha… we’ll go cat and dog walking together.  Actually when I had a cat, I tried putting it on a leash and walking it.  It never wanted to walk in a straight line by the side of the road and just went all over the place. 

    @stepaside_loser - omg – how much do you know about me?

    @Kliente2 - it’s really strange that I can share more here than in real life. 

  • @ElusiveWords - I’ve lost count… You know, it has been *goes to check old blog* 7 years and 4 months since your first comment … on my first Xanga blog post, ever. Wow! I didn’t realise you had posted on my very first blog entry back in 2006 on the 3rd of Feb! Also, ever since you gave me that lovely compliment and how I should change my Xanga username, I feel like it is time to change it … but I haven’t figured out a good username, yet!

  • @stepaside_loser - holy smokes… I just saw your first blog, it doesn’t show my name anymore just anonymous.  But I think that’s me.  We’ve known each other for that long?  And I have no clue who you are… 

  • Dear Matt,

    I really enjoyed reading this. Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • ROFL… LOL.. matty, matty, matty… how you entertain me so :)

  • @baldmike2004 - thanks Michael, I’m glad you liked it.

    @rudyhou - hee hee… it’s good to hear you laugh (even if it’s virtual). 

  • I’ve ridden around the track at Daytona in one of the Richard Petty race cars.  Is was the #24  WOOHOO!!!  I’ve driven manual and auto, but mostly auto.  Most cars have the auto/manual shift, I know mine does and so does my GFs.  You know, automatic or you can switch to manual shifting also.  Just without that third pedal which I’ve always kind of cringed at when I did drive stick, errrr, manual.

    Oh and yea, nice 16. . . . wait, I see 17.  LOL  So much for simple rules.  HEHEHE

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *