July 19, 2013

  • It Didn’t Seem Real

    It’s always interesting going to a hospital.  This time, I was the patient, not my dad.  I took a cab to the hospital and went  Emergency.  It wasn’t busy and I saw the triage nurse within 5 minutes.  He took the usual information down.  I explained the problem and the medication I needed.  He made a few notes and walked me into the emergency room right away.  It was the same thing the last time. 

    Within minutes two nurses (one was a good looking Chinese guy), a doctor and a student came in.  One person hooked me up to monitor while another stuck an IV in me.  They explained what they needed to do and what to expect.  I nodded and told them I remembered how it was last time.  They gave me my meds through the IV line and pushed it through.  I spent the next hour or so under observation.  But I know there wasn’t much they were really going to do.

    So I spent the time pondering and observing.  I watched patients getting hauled in.  One person didn’t speak English that well and came in by ambulance from a nursing home.  When the nurse tried to put an IV into him, he let loose a torrent of Italian swear words.  Another patient started to cough really bad.  A nurse came in to help clear a lot of mucus.  They closed the curtain so I couldn’t really see.  But they all wore masks and gowns before entering.  In the bed right in front of me, a woman had what I overheard was a gallstone or kidney stone.  There were 2 women who must have stayed up all night with that patient.  They both had very rumpled dresses and tired eyes.

    The brief bed rest was an opportunity again for life to tell me something.  You become aware of your mortality when you sit in a hospital bed.  I started wondering what I did with my bucket list.  I mean, this wasn’t a life threatening incident and I wasn’t close to death.  But it’s still the emergency room. I wanted a note book to jot down my thoughts.  But there were just questions.  What’s worse, I was stuck in the quiet section of the ER.  The elderly man was now sleeping.  The coughing guy was quiet.  Another woman who came in with her husband was resting.  Everyone was quiet.  It was too much for me to handle. 

    This was almost 3 weeks ago.  It seems so far away now. 

Comments (17)

  • UCLA usually has a tip top staff and reactions. I wonder what hospital you were at?

  • Even if they are questions, it’s still best to always express them. You can think about it for as long as you need to. Even if you don’t get the answer right away, often times, the answer comes at the time when it needs to.

  • I hope you are feeling better now!  I spent some time with a friend in the hospital at Christmastime — it is truly a time for reflection!

  • glad you’re ok!

  • Hope you are ok.

  • i know what you mean. now that I’m a little bit older, i can see just how fragile things are now the the cushion of youth is gone. enjoy the weekend matt

  • Did you do that so you can see the handsome guy nurses and let them take care of you?

  • Last year i had an angiogram to check whether my heart is ok because my family has heart attack tendency. To prepare for the procedure they have to shave my pube, lol. A male nurse had the honor, and he was smiling all the way to make sure i was well ‘taken cared of’, hehe. He is not bad looking either, i was so glad i stayed ‘calm’ :) i bet he was enjoying his job.

  • I hope everything is OK. I’ve never needed hospital care, but it’s only a matter of time … I can just imagine the experience in an ER. I’m thinking of the scenes in Meet Joe Black now.

  • The calm after an ordeal is often the most-harrowing part. Glad your hospital visit wasn’t as eventful as it might have been.

  • Im glad you’re back and safe. Hospitals are never fun…

  • …This was so poignant…. sigh…

  • Matt, I hope you are taking care of yourself. Don’t like hearing about a friend winding up in ER.

  • Gosh, scary indeed.  I hope you’re feeling better!

  • the important thing is that you are NOT currently in hospital.  and that you are well.  don’t think so much about these things.  they are not healthy as they only bring about certain thoughts that would eventually bring you down.  take good care of yourself, my friend.  if not for someone else, at least for your own piece of mind.

  • @PPhilip - I’m in Toronto, it was one of the hospital in my ‘hood.@laytexduckie - you’re right Ben, it’s always a good first step to state the problem and the act of writing it down helps.  @slmret - it’s an ongoing thing I have and hopefully it’ll stay under control. I’m beginning to hate hospitals.

  • @wutuwaitn4 - I’m still hanging in there – thanks John.  @beowulf222 - it’s an ongoing thing that I have to stay on top off.  I’m sure a healthier lifestyle and less stress would help.@l0311879l - ”the cushion of youth” – I like that phrase.  I’ve always been curious about your writing style and who influenced you,  it’s very good.  @stevew918 - it was just one male nurse. I think if I got shaved down there, I would die of embarrassment.  And I’m also very ticklish…@n_e_i_l - it’s not fun, I am sure a healthier lifestyle is something I should strive for. @TutelageOfTheMundane - yes, thank goodness it was routine (at least for me).  I know I would not make a good patient.@Devilzgaysianboi - it’s always good to leave the hospital safe and sound.@stepaside_loser - yeah, I guess so.  It’s kinda hard writing about this kinda stuff.  I wasn’t sure where to start and decided to just go with the flow after a few attempts.@christao408 - thanks Chris, I know what you mean.  I would feel the same way too.@brooklyn2028 - I am feeling better now Sheldon, I have a doctor’s appt in a few weeks and will get things checked out again.   I just got to live a healthier lifestyle to improve my odds.  Hopefully I’ll blog till I’m 100.  But it’s this kinda experiences that hits you.  @rudyhou - I will have to take better care of myself, you’re spot on with that Rudy.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *