December 20, 2013

  • Au Revoir

    I held his hands and told him what an awesome dad he was.  I thought he moved his fingers a bit.  I watched as his breath grew shallower and slower.  I yelled for my siblings to come to the room.  We watched him take his final breath and said our goodbyes.  Just moments before I thought I could sense my mom but maybe it was my imagination.  He wasn’t in pain or discomfort.  We made sure the there were enough meds.  He had his last rites just hours before.  Our house is just a modest home but to him, it was his castle.  He loved it and died there.

    Goodbye dad, I love you.  We’ll miss you.  Give mom a hug from all of us.  I’m happy that you’re with her now and free of the pain and suffering from your illness.

Comments (30)

  • I’m sure your Mom WAS there with him and with all of you.

    I’m so sorry to hear of your Dad’s death. :-(

    I know what it’s like to lose your parents to death…I know what it’s like to watch them take their final breath.

    You are in my thoughts. I send sympathy and love your way as your mourn your Dad’s passing. You will miss him so much. :-(

    I hope you can dwell on the good memories…and on the fact that he is with your Mom and he is now free…also, he would want you to grieve but then move on to enjoy your life. He will always be with you. As a parent, that’s what I would want for my adult children.

    ((((HUGE HUGS))))

    • Thank you. I think he’ll want us to move on and enjoy our lives too. He never wanted to be a burden. I appreciate all your support here.

  • I hope you received my mail Mattie. I know that your memories will give your strength. Love and hugs to you. You are and were an amazing son. I know they both look down on you and will bless you every day of your life.

  • My deepest sympathy. It is so hard to lose a parent and I know the pain. They are both with you – do not believe for an instant that you are orphaned! Peace to you. I will pray for them and you all at Mass.

  • I’m not sure what to say. I’m terribly sorry for your loss but it’s good to know he is at peace now. Gather comfort from your family and friends.

  • I’m sorry for your loss. My condolences. At least he was surrounded by loved ones in his place of familiarity and comfort- his castle.

  • Sorry to hear of your loss. He’s in a better place now, and on his next journey.

  • I’m sorry for your loss.

  • You continue to be in my thoughts and prayers, Matt.
    (((HUGS)))

  • Very sorry for your loss. :(

  • RYC on my site: Thank you so much, Matt!
    (A few years ago one of my sisters died unexpectedly and suddenly on Christmas Eve…so I understand your pain of your Dad dying so close to Christmas. :-( )
    (((Love and HUGS)))

    • Wow… “RYC”. I haven’t seen one of those in years. I kinda knew it was close and tried to mentally prepared myself for it. I know he wouldn’t have wanted us to mope and be depressed.

  • Sorry about your loss. Take care Matt <3

  • my condolences, matty. sorry for this late comment. gosh, if only i could be there for you. i sense both your mum and dad are smiling down on you right now. you are truly a good loving son. BIG HUGS, buddy.

  • Bless you Matt. You are both in my thoughts and prayers.

  • even though I don’t have an account anymore, just wanted to leave a message. sorry to hear for your loss. I’ll keep you in my thoughts

    • Jay – thank you very much, I appreciate you taking time to write this. I took a quick look at your website. Wow… you’re moving up in the world! All the best to you.

  • Matt, I have not checked into Xanga for a while because I have been busy worrying about my mom’s health. Really sorry to hear about your dad’s passing. I remembered the fond blogs you wrote about your caring for your dad. You are a great son. At least your dad passed away peacefully with his children around him and knowing you love him.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *