June 10, 2014

  • Reaching Out

    It was a bright and warm Saturday morning.  I dropped into one of the many coffee shops in my ‘hood.  After I got my coffee, I walked towards the front to sit by the window.  The big leather couch is usually crowded but there is a small table just off to the side.  But today, no one sat at the front.  Instead,  there was an elderly homeless woman sitting in the big leather couch.   She appeared to be taking a nap.  I paused and grabbed another table off to the side.  I would glance up occasionally from my book at look at her. She would nod off, wake up, look around as if to see she was in any danger and then nod off again.  She had this faint smile on her face just before she nodded off.  I was surprised no one from the staff had approached her.

    After awhile, I noticed 2 women sitting down in in front of homeless woman while an employee from the coffeeshop sat beside her.  I overheard bits of conversation “social worker… do you have a place to stay… identification… I understand…”  The 3 women all appeared to be genuinely interested in helping her.  The homeless woman didn’t appear the be defensive or angry.  After about 10 mins, the employee had to go back to work and the homeless woman continued to chat with the 2 women.

    They were still chatting when I left.  It was nice to see a bit of humanity and hope.

Comments (8)

  • That's great. Hope that woman can find a place where she can stretch out and have a dreamless sleep. Hope that place offered her some food too.

  • I would have got her out of there for my other customers.
    That is nice that people were concerned though.
    The find a place like the library and they come back everyday cause it's a/c and comfortable place to be.

  • ps sat the hospital I had to be there at 6am and my hubby had surgery and a pink lady man came by about 9am and said they couldn't have us dozing off and we accepted coffee and a donut. Well, you can make us sit up straight but like one guy just snored away and the pink lady man gave up on him. LOL

  • yes. it's always nice to see there is hope in human kind after all. i hope the homeless woman gets to go elsewhere where she'll get to rest more comfortably.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *