September 22, 2014

  • Lost

    Despite promising myself I need to change and do things that I want to do, I’m still stuck in a job that pays the bills but does nothing else for my soul.  The trips to the gym have become a bit sporadic.  My brain sometimes sleeps during the day and becomes active at night when I need it to sleep.  Its weird, sometimes I’ll be changing channels and it’ll stop on some show with someone going on about doing what you love.  Another day, I suddenly remembered this travel outfit that I had checked out years ago for camping and hiking trips up way up north.  Then my sister told me about a story she heard from one of our aunts.  Her brother in law had worked so hard for his company.  It was some sort of special project and he busted his balls.  When it was over, they simply let him go.  He passed away a few months after that leaving 4 young kids.  I remember my mom telling me that story many years ago.  There’ve been so many signs.

    I guess I wasn’t doing anything about it.  So life decided to give me a slap in the face.  After dinner on the weekend with J, I asked him to drive me to the hospital.  I wasn’t feeling well.  The guy at the emergency did a quick assessment and in about 15 mins, I was admitted.  The guy behind me was bleeding from a cut in his face.  There were others that looked like they’ve been there for hours.  I felt a bit guilty getting ahead of them.

    I was there for maybe an hour and a bit.  I only took one picture with my phone.  Sorry – no selfies. The doctor kept me awhile to make sure I was ok once I got fixed me up.  I’m fine now.   I guess I need to take care of myself and enjoy life.

    You folks doing ok?

    ER bed

    ER bed

     

Comments (5)

  • You were admitted before other people. That must be serious situation. Hope you are doing ok now.

  • What the h—? Matt, you are scaring me. Send me an email. Did they do lab? EKG? Dang, I am really upset now. Please pay attention to your health Mattie. I hope you keep your sister informed of your health. Love and hugs to you.

  • oh geez, please take better care of yourself, mattie. yes, i’m doing ok. i too doing a job that pays the bills but does nothing to my soul, though it does give me a peace of mind. i now find myself going to the gym more frequently after work, just to release stress.
    the exhaustion from joining the free classes at the gym help to get me to fall asleep easier later in the evening. i even have dreamt a few times now, which i don’t normally do. they say if you dream, then you are in a deep sleep. i strive to have more deep sleeps as i can possibly get. which is why now i always push myself to actually go to the gym and tire myself there until i sweat like nobody’s business.

    • I should force myself more to go to the gym. I too am stuck in a job that pays the bills and sucks my soul. I work late into the evenings and several hours on the weekend.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *