December 24, 2008

  • My Christmas shopping was mercifully brief.  I did most of the shopping at the stores in my neighborhood.  My bf and I also did a bit of shopping yesterday.  Every Christmas I see many people just spending money things that make them feel good – until they get the bill. 

    I remember when my Christmas presents were shirts, socks, sweaters – practical things.  It was difficult for my parents to find the extra cash for Xmas gifts.  We had help from some of our relatives.  My grandfather (on my mom’s side), would mail us some money around holidays and stressed that it should be used for good food and good wine.  My uncle (also on my mom’s side) would do the same thing too.  So that those holiday dinners would mean more.  Back then a roast duck or roast pork was pricey.  We had those only on very special days.  My mom’s relatives also would send things like mushrooms, tea, dried shrimp, dried oysters.  Today, you can get them relatively cheaply at Chinese malls. 

    We didn’t have any close relatives in the same city.  As an immigrant family, we just sort of stuck together – just us against the world.  It really felt that way.  I knew it was fruitless to wait for a bike, skates or stuff like that.  After our artificial Xmas tree more or less faded away, my mom just hung a lot of Christmas card around the fireplace (which we’ve never used).  We then placed our gifts down there.  It was simple and beautiful.  When my mom cooked – especially if she was steaming something, our windows would be covered with moisture.  Because the windows wasn’t that well insulated back then – the moisture would freeze over into amazing patterns. 

    When my brother, sister and I started to work – we finally were able to get some higher priced items for our parents.   Sometimes it would be CDs, or tickets to the symphony, books, nicer clothes – stuff like that.  At times, we would chip in for a stereo and a TV.  For many years, we only had 1 TV and we had to learn to share.

    I think one of the reasons why I don’t like Christmas is it reminds me of the things I couldn’t buy or have when I was growing up.  I know that my life was a lot easier than many, many other people though.  Looking back now, I probably won’t trade that experience even though it was very difficult for my parents. 

    If I don’t write again tomorrow – I hope you all have a great Christmas and enjoy the holidays. 

    Peace. 

    Matt 

Comments (18)

  • I think less fortunate families are closer bc theyre stuck in proximity. Richer families have kids in their own rooms with their own tvs. Me and my brother used to share a room till we were 14. ‘Twas fun.

    Artificial trees are cleaner to clean? eheh.

  • just read form a chinese newspaper saying that the whole world started to spend their money  on Christmas gifts and food after the Charles Dickens’ Novel “A Christmas Carol”  first published in 1843 which was written under financial duress to help Dickens to pay off a debt…….

    Anyway since I need to work during the holidays, I wish you and others a Great Christmas!

  • Somehow the love needs to be expressed verbally and physically. I feel that gets lost in the rush to buy presents. Oh, I do the same thing look for present to give to people but this year I a making an effort to say how much they mean to me. It is difficult but it need to do that. Merry Christmas

  • Merry Ho Ho Matt

  • Everyone does the best they can.  At least you have some fond memories of Christmas.  Anyways, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Mattie!

  • Ho Ho Ho!
    Merry Christmas.

  • Poignant memories, very rich and lasting. Hope you never forget them.

  • merry christmas matt!  i think your christmas celebrations when you were young sound very nice; sometimes the best things are the simplest things.  getting a big fancy present is nice, but getting to spend time at home with the family and with friends is even better.  i think that’s why all of my friends and i come back every year from all over the country for the holidays.  i hope you have a great christmas.

  • Have a great christmas! You always have such a good entry to share =]

  • @oOBuBBLes711Oo - I shared a room with my brother too! 

    @agmhkg - sorry to hear that you have to work on Xmas.  But I hope you’ll find a bit of time in between your flights to relax.

    @Fatcat723 - I hope you get to do what you want this Christmas.

    @AppsScraps - Maaawwwyy Cwistmas (ala Elmer Fudd). 

    @brooklyn2028 - yeah, those were some very good memories. Merry Christmas to you too!

    @ZSA_MD - my memory is never that great. That’s one of the reasons why I have this blog.  No amount of ginko pills will help me!

    @kunhuo42 - you made it back!  I hope you have a great Christmas too with family and friends.

    @MrDaveBoi - awww… thanks.  I really enjoyed your last entry.  Have a great Christmas as well!

  • merry christmas bro

  • hohohoho merry christmas =)
    *greeting from hk*

  • yeah presents are just STUFF. my family aren’t christian, so i grew up knowing that we didn’t celebrate it and just immersed myself in the music and stories (not to say i wasn’t a brat, i remember myself whining for stuff–but this isn’t xmas related).

    my family now makes christmas an occasion for good seafood (it’s all about the seafood in australia) for the family around the dinner table. nice and relaxed. i really enjoyed it with family.

  • Well, I’m grateful this Christmas for having the time to spend it with my parents! Merry Christmas from HK!

  • Matt, it sounds like you had a wonderful childhood that was very rich, indeed.  The memories you have will last longer than any presents.  And the gifts of good food and good times spent together created those memories and cement the past to the future.

    The description of the frozen condensation on the windows is wonderfully evocative.  You write beautifully.

    Have a happy holiday season.

  • Wish you Merry Christmas, Matt.  Stay warm. :)

  • my family and i don’t celebrate christmas (we’re buddhist) so i never had turkeys/ham/christmas dinner during growing up years nor do i have to do any christmas shopping, ever.  my very first christmas dinner was when i was the States for college.  i just enjoy the fact that we all are entitled to have a full stomach.  i remember watching the news in the States during the holidays each year where churches would welcome homeless people to garther and line up for their free hot christmas meal.  i think that’s really cool.

    wanna know what i had for dinner last night?  my mum and i went to a japanese supermarket to get some food to bring home and heat up.  we didn’t even think of christmas at all.  both of my parents and i enjoy japanese food so much that we were happy with what we had.  we even planned what to cook for the new year’s eve.  it’s easy not to be carried away by the notion of christmas here because unlike overseas, we don’t see a lot of christmas decorations everywhere.

    the BIG holiday meal starts today, actually.  my family and i are going to a japanese restaurant to celebrate my b’day.  yeah, i’m one year older today ;)  

  • Yeah, gift giving is not really in my blood. Our family gives gifts throughout the year, but mainly when we see something that we know another person might need… I think it’s more meaningful that way.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *