December 26, 2008

  • Snippets

    /* edit:

    These are snippets and slices of memories.  They all happened on different time and are too small individually for an entry but too big for a pulse.   So I just tossed them all together here.

    1)  I was trudging along the sidewalk on a snowy gray afternoon.  An elderly lady was walking her dog was just ahead of me. I slowly overtook them as the small dog sniffed and peed on a snow bank.  As I slipped past them, I heard her quietly say “Oh Fi Fi, you have snow on your pee pee.”  I discreetly glanced back.  She had just picked up the dog and was gently brushing away the snow between the dog’s legs.  I quickly turned around  to allow Fi Fi to salvage its dignity. 

    2)  Dad is opening his Christmas gifts.  It’s a large gift wrapped book and he was slowly tearing off the paper.  With each reveal, he would say things like “Oh, this is lovely.  This is great.  I really like it.”  When all the wrapping was finally off, he looked at the book and said “What is it?”  My brother and I did everything we could to stifle our laughter. 

    3)  I’m in a dimly lit pub in Amsterdam many years ago writing postcards, checking out my guidebook and nursing a drink.  It’s early afternoon and there some guys are at the bar near my table.  I continue to write while they chat softly.  One of them calls out to me and asks me where I’m from.  I tell him I’m from Canada.  He waves me over and introduces his friends.  It’s mostly small talk – what I’ve seen, his recommendations etc…  he waves the bartender over and I order another drink.  He asks me if I have a girlfriend.  I said “No.”  “No? Why?”  I can’t remember what I said.  But he looks at me and asks me to come a bit closer.  I lean forward out of the shadows into the dim overhead  light.  He looks at me and says “Well, you’re not ugly.”  I pause for a second and we both laugh.   We chat a bit more and he eventually leaves.  We nod and exchange polite goodbyes.  I finish up my postcards and journal and pack everything away into my knapsack.  I get out some money for the bartender.  He waves me away and said the other guy had paid for my tab.  I smile and hope that the rest of my trip will be like this. 

    4)  We arrived home last night from another big Christmas dinner.  Dad was already asleep in the car – his tummy full of turkey, stuffing, mash potatoes, yams, cheese, crackers and some wine.  He stumbles into the living room and turn on the TV.  I go into the kitchen and clean up some of the dishes that are in the sink.  I go out and check on him.  He’s snoring on the couch already.  I grab a throw from his bedroom and carefully drape it over him.  He wakes up and I quietly tell him that I’m just covering him up.  He closes his eyes and drifts off again.  I stood there and remembered a childhood scene.  Every night, he would make a check on us every night and adjust our blankets to make sure we were tucked in.  I was always a light sleeper and would wake up when I heard him coming in.  It was always comforting and I never had any trouble drifting off to sleep again.  

     

Comments (22)

  • Happy holidays Matt

  • the photo doesn’t work for me for some reason.

    anyway, great story. i’m surprised you’re in amsterdam! how cool. what a nice guy at the bar, i thought he was going to say he was gay, but funny joke!

    it’s amazing how you’re taking care of your dad now. it’s almost a role reversal, but as long as he’s happy…

  • Mattie, your entries are never short on humor! Have a Merry Merry Christmas!

  • Matt, I do look forward to your post. They are simple and hit home most often. This one is no exception. Enjoy your holiday!

  • @Wangium - enjoy your holidays too Jason!

    @stepaside_loser - the Amsterdam story was years ago when I was traveling through Europe.   I had intended each paragraph to be a slice of memory.  Sometimes they are too small for an entry but too big for a pulse.  I just sort of lumped them all together.

    @curry69curry - Hopw you’re enjoying Xmas and the holidays in HKG.  Don’t eat too much. 

    @Fatcat723 - I’m glad you liked those little snippets of memories.  They were too small for an entry and too big for a pulse. 

  • @ElusiveWords - oh! oh! lol, sorry i didn’t understand that at first. what threw me off was “snippets 26 december 2008″, so i just assumed that everything happened on 26 dec 2008. haha.

    nice way to look back on things. it was lovely 

  • @stepaside_loser - ah… I see.   I think I’ll change that next time.  Thanks for the perspective. 

  • Comment trouve-tu le film?  A moi, c’est formidable.

    Happy Saturday, Matt.

    –markb

  • I loved the fourth snippet Matt. What a treasured memory! Happy New Year my dear friend.

  • i like the little snippets of your memories; a very nice and eclectic mix.  it’s interesting that for some entries you used present tense and for other ones you used past tense…  and the tense you chose didn’t necessarily match how recent the memory was.  did you do that on purpose?

  • Great memories, Matt.  The third one (Amerstdam) is the cutest but the final one was so sweet.  Thanks for sharing them.

  • 1. Haha that’s so funny. Poor dog… if i were Fifi…I didn’t want some elderly lady touching me peepee

    2. :] That’s happen to me before

    3. aww…so was he kinda hitting on you? :D

    4. cute. i miss childhood

  • such a nice encounter in AMS !

  • @kunhuo42 - I noticed that too after I posted it.  Maybe I was just a bit sloppy in the grammar.

    @ZSA_MD - glad you liked it.  Have a great New Year too!

    @christao408 - sometimes I have this fear of getting alzheimer; maybe writing down some of these memories is a reaction to that fear.  Hmm… but if I get Alzheimers, I won’t remember the name of my blog.  Ugh..

    @Devilzgaysianboi - hey – long time no blog!  Glad to hear from you again.

    @agmhkg - yeah, it was my first time in Europe. 

  • @mbpasadena - I really enjoyed the movie.  I wasn’t expecting how some of these stories would come together at the end.   

  • I wonder if the guy liked you lol

  • So cute!  The third and the fourth are my favorites. 

  • RYC: lol. I wish. I spent a lot of time just out with friends trying
    new restaurants and watching movies. Not that productive a way to kill
    time =[

    Happy New Year to you too. Any big plans coming up for it?

  • Sweet!
    Happy New Year!

  • Your snippets reflect the movie you’re watching, which is a series of vignettes! I could imagine your Amsterdam story being part of a future “Amsterdam, je t,aime”, except in Dutch of course.

  • Beautiful memories….Happy New Year Matt…hope it’s a great year for you…’Til The Next

  • @mmmagination - hahaha – I doubt it.

    @Dezinerdreams - glad you liked it. 

    @Devilzgaysianboi - just a quiet evening with my bf.

    @spacerboi - I never thought of the blog matching the video – interesting connection. 

    @GracePrince - all the best to you too! 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *