February 7, 2010

  • No Handyman Here...

    These past few weeks have found me and my bf spending time at Home Depot (aka Homo Depot), Rona, Lowes to check out a few things for his bathroom.  I love going to these places and can spend hours in these cavernous stores exploring, dreaming and marveling at the possibilities.  Alas, I'm no handy man.  My brother gave me a drill as a housewarming present years ago.  It's only been used twice.  But it looks good though.

    My brother on the other hand is the opposite.  He can repair holes in dry wall, do basic electrical work, basic plumbing, wall papering and stuff like that.  So as I was wandering around these stores (Lowes is awesome by the way), my bf was perplexed.  He jokingly said he should have screened me before dating me to make sure I had some basic home repair skills.   I did however repair his that sink stopper thingy in his bathroom sink once which elevated me to heroic status for about a week or two.  

    I told him I'm good at providing direction but I'm not the worker bee.  My training for home repairs is watching the late Home Improvement, This Old House, Holmes on Homes and shows like those.  But if you want me to do something more than pound a nail into a wall - then you got the wrong guy.   And you better have a wall repair kit in case I miss the nail.  Yep... this is likely one of the few flaws I have.  

Comments (56)

  • I enjoy working on houses very much.  I plan to build, from the ground up, an entire house at some point.

    Why is Home Depot referred to as "Homo" Depot?  I don't get it...?

  • Hahaha!  Homo depot...wouldn't it be more Lesbian than Homo?

    Your boyfriend should feel lucky, at least you can cook a good meal!

  • Homo depot?....y?

  • I ain't no handyman either...  but I think I am great at directing people and getting the work done- which is way better! No?

  • Wow...now I feel really bad. I used to work at HD as a second job and I can do stuff around the house. I don't want to be manly.

  • Haha, Homo Depot?  Why, are there a lot of gay people that venture there?

  • @arenadi - I think that would be awesome.  I'm assuming it'll have an ocean view too.  I've seen so many shows about folks designing and building their own homes.  I'm always amazed at the process and the challenges that often pop up. 

    As for homo depot - I wasn't aware of that term until a couple of years ago.  According to UrbanDictionary.com, it's a "nickname for Home Depot, as all the gay men go on Saturday morning for
    the supplies to remodel they homes, and cruise all the married men
    there doing the same."  It's also a cute play on words too.  But when I'm there, I'm so absorbed by the tools, cabinets, granite counters, paint chips that I'm in my own little world.

    @brooklyn2028 - well, he claims he can cook better than I can (he does crab and lobsters, I can't kill them...)

    @yorutenshi - see my comment to arenadi. 

    @Dezinerdreams - I agree... directing is a lot better!

    @macphoto - hee hee... now that I know this about you, I'll be expecting you to blog about home repairs every so often!

    @Roadlesstaken - to tell you the truth, I haven't noticed.  See my comment to Mike (arenadi) which has the definition from urbandictionary.com.   I think I see more gay men at Ikea. 

  • @ElusiveWords - Ohhh wow, I had no idea, haha.  Next time I go on a Saturday morning, I'll keep my eye out.  I've never even noticed this before.  When I'm in Home Depot, I'm very mission driven.  I go there, get my stuff and get out.  Then again, I'm there quite a lot so I guess browsing doesn't appeal to me as much as it used to?

  • We call it Home Despot, and Pet Smart is Pet Fart.  I'm handy when I'm forced into a corner, but just barely.  Usually I'm pretty decent at something the second time I do it.  I didn't realize that little tidbit until I'd botched a couple fairly expensive things.  *sigh*

    Little tip, don't use a chisel to remove those plastic screws on a toilet.

  • @zisixi - LMAO.....omg

  • I'm not very handy either. I'm very scared of power tools. Luckily, my fiance is very good with all of that sort of stuff so I'm happy enough just to let him alone to do his thing.

  • I am no handyman either. Hanging a picture can be an all afternoon job. And indeed could mean some wall repair.

  • @ElusiveWords - Ohhh now I get it 0.0

  • I can fix some simple things but prefer to hire a handiman. I do enjoy shopping at Home Depot. BTW I enjoy watching those home remodelling and Food Channel shows.    At least you can cook a good meal.  I am more like a repairman watcher and yummy food eater. Oops, that sentense did not come out quite right.  I really meant to say I prefer to hire a handiman and make sure he fixes it right; and I eat at restaurants a lot.  This is to clarify  in case some bloggers have too good an imagination. 

  • @stevew918 - we all know you like to watch yummy repairmen.  hahahaha....

  • @zisixi - when my kitchen faucet (one of those Moen ones) broke, I used a wrench to turn it on.  I finally gave up after that stopped working and I couldn't do dishes in my bathroom sink.

    @TheCheshireGrins - I might have to borrow him every so often. 

    @Fatcat723 - lol... looks like we have a lot more in common!

  • @ElusiveWords - yeah, I seem to remember cracking a Moen something or another with a pliers or something.  I am NOT a fan of plumbing.  Then again, there are very few fixit tasks that I am a fan of except maybe sandwiches.

  • tried them all :) even welding. i think the only thing i dislike is plumbing. i'm no super mario. btw, do you know how hurtful it is when you hit your thumb instead of the nail?

  • haha...being able to pound a nail into a wall is much better than me...i couldn't fix something to save my life...

  • @zisixi - my dad gets nervous when I try to change light bulbs at his place.  

    @Renatojr3 - no I don't know how painful it is.  Can you do a video blog and demonstrate for us?    

    @onmovement - odd, I sort of thought you would be good at electrical stuff.  I figured when you're at the stage with the keyboard and all those cables, wires, mikes, amps, etc... you probably know what to do with those things. 

  • @ElusiveWords - That's too funny.

  • @arenadi - All by yourself?

  • I try to do more house repair.  Just so expensive calling people in to do it!  :)

  • @brooklyn2028 - Are lesbians not homos?

    @arenadi - When the gay guys are there, they are very mission-driven, too.  Just different missions.  LOL

    Matt, thank goodness you don't have any serious flaws!

  • @yang1815 - maybe you can do some of mine.  Yeah, it is expensive getting people in.  I paid $100 for someone to change my kitchen faucet.  But I'm the type of guy who needs a manual for a hammer.  

  • @christao408 - I might be a wee bit modest.  hahaha

  • @ElusiveWords - Manual for hammer?  Thought you're pretty good at nailing/banging?  :D :D :D

    I'd do it if I could.  And if you invite me over!  :P

  • @yang1815 - you won't like it up here.  There's no snow.  

  • @ElusiveWords - You kidding?  I grew up in Taipei!  I love heat!  And sweat!  And wearing beach shorts and sandals all day!!!

  • I like this sort of stuff a lot. I use to volunteer with a mission group that stripped a crackhouse to the bones and then redid the whole thing to make it habitable- I learned sooo much, and really enjoyed it. I love working with my hands :)

  • @secade - So many jokes here.

  • @yang1815 - I LIKE MASTURBATING

    did that ruin the jokes yet

  • @secade - Not really.  More on the working part.  Like a job.  HAHA

  • @ElusiveWords - oh...well that I can do... but when it comes to simple home repairs etc, that's a completely different story lol

  • I used to be a professional handyman, then did commercial maintenance.  Now, I make more at computer networking.  Handyman is just for my own home.

  • @christao408 - I guess so!  I guess, I always think "homo" to be male...makes me think about my own stereotypes... :S

  • hahaha  i can do a few basic repairs around the house, but not very many.  i probably should have paid attention more when my dad was trying to teach me how to fix things!

  • You own a drill?? OMG! Can  you put your hand on M's head and bless him?

  • @yang1815 - @secade - *faints*  gosh... my innocent blog has been deflowered.  

  • @ZSA_MD - I was actually thinking of using it as a mixer (tying a spatula to the drill).  But a rare dose of common sense intervened.  

  • @ElusiveWords - ha ha ha. Love you.

  • @ElusiveWords - Double the pleasure!  :D

  • @ElusiveWords - I'm sorry that my masturbation has destroyed your innocence.

  • Haha~same way we call the Home Depot (aka. Homo Depot) here in L.A.!

  • @ZSA_MD - Rolling on the floor laughing right now...

  • @brooklyn2028 - As long as you're not saying that while wearing blackface or yellowface, your patriarchal dominance is fine.  LOL

  • @christao408 - it was a poor man's Kitchen Aid mixer.  Sigh... 

  • @ElusiveWords - Oh, I was rolling on the floor more in response to Zakiah's request that you lay your hands on Mohamed and bless him with your technical know-how, than in response to the spatula on the drill thing.  Although that was funny, too.
    Have a good evening - get some sleep!

  • @christao408 - I can just visualize a wave of destruction if Mohamed and I ever joined forces to do home repairs at their house.  Zakiah would chase us out with her marble rolling pin!  

  • @christao408 - LOL! No yellow face makeup needed. :P

  • I’m terrified of doing anything technical like home repairs, tinkering with computers, etc. My dad has absolutely no faith in my dexterity—he pretty much assumes that I’d bungle anything technical. 

  • lol... you're not the only one.  i'd like to think myself as more a handyman but unfortunately that part of the gene just not in me.  yeah, wishful thinking.

  • I painted walls, and I helped my dad do his plumbing.
    That's the extent of my experience.

  • @Senlin - really?  My dad doesn't trust me to change light bulbs.  But I did the last 2 without any problems.  He seemed relieved. 

    @rudyhou -   I guess we have another common trait!

    @Wangium - I painted my room once.  It ended up in some orangey pink colour that was horrible.  I could see the marks from the paint brush afterwards.   Plumbing was a disaster.  My dad had to call a real plumber to fix my mistake(s). 

  • A chisel hammer is a smaller, hand held
    version of a jackhammer. The hand held electric or pneumatic power tool
    is used for chipping or removing small amounts of concrete material at a
    time. Other applications in the
    construction industry are for removing small amounts of concrete, mortar
    or boring holes for electrical and plumbing applications.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *