February 10, 2010

  • Memories From a Hospital Stay

    I’m always apprehensive when I walk into a hospital.  I accompanied my dad for his appointment the other day.  Every hospital seems to have their own scent, sounds and atmosphere.  I think if you have spent time in several hospitals, I’m sure you could tell them apart if you were blindfolded. 

    As a kid, I spent some time in a hospital and hated it.  I remember my parents driving me there while I was still in my pajamas.  I remember getting poked in the arms several times because they couldn’t find a vein.  They finally found one in my foot.   They kept me for several days while I recovered from a nasty and potentially deadly fever from a mosquito bite.  Mom stayed with me through out the ordeal.  Dad would come by regularly.  

    When I got better, the nurse said I needed a bath.   I thought I would just go to a washroom and take a bath there.  But I still had an IV attached to me.  Then she started to bring a basin of water to the bedside and started to draw the drapes around my bed.  It dawned on me what was gonna happen.  Mom had just gone home.  I loudly protested and held my ground (actually held my pants).  She left me alone.  I was about 10 or 11 years old and painfully shy.  No nurse was gonna look at my thing. 

    When mom came back, I think the nurse snitched on me.  (I must have started to smell after several days of no baths).  Before I knew it, I was stripped naked while this strange woman gave me a sponge bath.  There were people going in and out of the room visiting other patients and the drape wasn’t drawn that tightly.   I just closed my eyes and swallowed my pride.  I think I hated that more than I hated the needles. 

    Even now, I don’t like getting naked in front of a woman.  I definitely don’t have a nurse fetish.  Although as a gay man, the odds of me getting naked in front of a woman is pretty slim.  

Comments (29)

  • I have been going to hospitals a lot when I was a kid.  All I remember is getting really tired, and the parents would take me on a scooter to a local clinic to get some kind of shot.

    I liked it though…for some reason.  Even if the air smelled sterile, even if I were in a room where it’s all white…

  • After my big surgeries at 15/16, I remember having to get a catheter and bath… it was horrible. Having a woman, albeit an attractive nurse, stick a plastic tube up my penis then fondle my bladder has pretty much ruined any sort medical-profession fantasy that I may have ever had.

  • I don’t like hospitals if I’m visiting someone there or if I’m admitted.  However, I can work there just fine. 

  • Medicine and surgeries have always fascinated me… so I really don’t mind the hospitals much. 

  • Interesting story, Matt.  I would think you would rather be naked in front a female nurse than a male one because the risk of accidental excitement is less!  LOL

  • I had a stay in the hospital when about your age. I have to admit I reacted in the same manner.

  • I stay away from hospitals when I can.

  • I hate hospitals.  The only good memory I have of one is in the morning after a surgery when a really hot doctor (tall, blue eyes, hot face, nice body,I guess of course smart) checked on me (even if I probably looked like shit and he was surrounded by residents).  I went home that same day so I never got to see him again. 

  • hahaha  i’ve had to get naked in front of three doctors, two of which were women.  i’m thankful that i’m old enough to remove such experiences from my mind as being purely for clinical purposes, so that they don’t disturb me so much.

  • @secade - Eeel….that’s nasty! 

  • I really dislike hospitals as well.

    One time though, I had this “issue”.  You see, my package got really large.  Now, I’m accustomed to having a fairly large package; enough so that certain kinds of underwear just don’t work for me.  But this time, it was really really large.  And it started to hurt.  And swell.  Until I swear, the thing was like 3x its normal size.   So after a while, I thought it would be a good idea to go see a doctor.  So I hobbled to the doctor (being very difficult and painful to walk); and got to Urgent Care.

    Lo and behold, the Urgent Care doc I got that day was this really hot, young female doctor who looked like it was possible she was still an intern.  OMG.  I had to stand there and unzip and let her put her hands around it, and examine it.  The whole time, I was like omgwtfbbq, hot girl doctor holding my massively oversized, swollen package here with my pants around my ankles.

  • Hospitals do have their distictive disinfectant smells. My children always told me that. I couldn’t sense it, but they did. I had to take a shower as soon as I got home, just so I could get rid of that smell.

  • that is very embarassing

  • @Wangium - maybe it was the smell of disinfectant that you liked.

    @secade - OUCH!  *crosses leg* 

    @JL789 - yes, then it becomes a work place.  I suppose if one works in the front lines (eg. emergency room), they’ll need to learn to emotionally detach themselves.

    @Dezinerdreams - maybe you can be the first designer / doctor!  Or designer surgical gowns! 

    @christao408 - hmm… I think the sight of a white gown or hospital garb will dull any “excitement”.

    @Fatcat723 - ahh… a fellow brother in arms.

    @yang1815 - yeah, but when I have to visit relatives or friends, it can get a bit depressing.

    @TheLatinObserver - Ahh… well, at least there was a good memory in there somewhere.

    @kunhuo42 - uhm… what was it for? 

    @arenadi - hmm… how does one comment on something like this without making a joke?  I hope the cure was not painful.  I’m having visions of needles being poked into places that would hurt immensely in order to drain stuff….

    @ZSA_MD - yes, there is that smell.  I don’t think it’s that strong nowawdays.  But each hospital does seem to have a certain scent to them.

  • @vsan79 - yes… but I survived.  

  • @ElusiveWords - In the end, I am also afraid of being naked in front of a woman.

  • Hospitals……..   /shudder

  • you poor thing!  yeah, i now what you mean about the idea of some stranger helping you in taking a bath.  that’s kinda strange.  well, unless it involves foreplay then MAYBE i’ll think about it… :P

  • @ElusiveWords - various medical check-ups.

  • Did you get malaria, by any chance?  I have actually been working on grants that address it, but from what I know it only affects people in Africa??  As for a sponge bath, sounds invasive.  

  • Knock on wood, but I’ve never been admitted to a hospital!
    A foot vein?? OUCH!

  • @rudyhou - hahaha… I didn’t even know the meaning of foreplay at that age.  I was very innocent. 

    @TheCheshireGrins - I hear ya.  I’ve gone from hate to grudging acceptance and discomfort.

    @alchemystfury - it wasn’t malaria; I remember something called H fever. 

    @CareyGLY - keep knocking on wood Carey, I hope you never have to be admitted to one too.

  • @TakingxOverxMe - yep… that one word pretty well captures it.  Thanks for dropping in. 

  • oh no… you had a nasty one lmao but i had a horrible one >< sigh did i tell you i had gone through hernia lumbar disk? i think i shall share with you guys later not now… =p that’s the reason why i chose to travel around and not continue my research in japan T.T you are the first one to know this… 

  • @lcfu - ^^ now you’ve really made me curious hahahaha….  

  • @ElusiveWords - lol yeah… but at least you know i suffered before… i dont really want to mention this but guess i will share the moment i had in the hell after i have completed my master (what i wanted to do before i had that hernia)

  • you poor thing. i’d hate that as a kid, it’s such an invasion of privacy.

  • @stepaside_loser - well, I guess at that age, there wasn’t much to look at but still.. it was not a fun time.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *