March 14, 2010

  • Bloggers Come and Go

    Bloggers come and go.   There are some that I miss.  I couldn’t quite list them all as it’s now getting late (thanks to the time change).   I wish and hope they will write again.  Some of them were bloggers I came across when I started on Xanga and I have good memories of them. 

    1.  Absolutmichael:  one of the first Xangans that I thought would be a writer in one way or another.

    2.  Blizzardi:  I hope Harold is doing ok.

    3.  Bennykan – always fun to read

    4.  caihwei – loved his photos, food and car.  I think he’s set up shop in Tumblr. 

    5.  DivaJoe – sort of your typical journal / blog but I enjoyed reading about his life.

    6.  dynamiqvision  – Sion, I hope you haven’t faded away. 

    7.  enginerds:  I’ve always enjoyed his photography.

    8.  epup:  not sure what happened to him.

    9.  hijack88 :  pretty good writer chronicling his adventures and sometimes misadventures with sensitivity and wit.

    10.  jasonbasin – food, fun and sharp wit.  I still can’t figure out how he stayed so slim after eating so much.

    11.  JCFans – he popped up when I restarted blogging.  After that, I’m not sure where he went.  But he always had a kind word to say and was very supportive when I started to blog.

    12.  JerryMonkey - sort of faded away, I’m sure like others, he’s probably on another social networking site.

    13.  JonasApproved  – Jonas used to have tons of traffic, now he probably has 7 or so other blogs including his own site. 

    14.  jx2_66 – Jon or the Poofer.  I’ve always enjoyed his drawings and adventures. 

    15.  junshien -  he had a lot of good photos on his site.  Over time he became a very good photographer and is now a wedding photographer. 

    16.  liquorman8 – I always thought he was a pretty good writer.

    17.  Len_Q – I wonder what happened to Len?

    18.  NanYu – another guy that I followed and he sort of just stopped. 

    19.  neo_plasm – I think he’s an oncologist now.

    20.  spacerboi – he was on Xanga long before I came on.  I would put money on him becoming a writer.  Except he’s a lawyer. 

    21.  GracePrince – lovely woman who’s fought through quite a few hardships in life but continues to smile.

    22.  ZenPaper – I hope he comes back to Xanga. 

    23.  zozoyork – probably very busy with his photography.

    And of course the late Kelvin who encouraged me to explore writing more seriously. 

    I hope new bloggers will find a home in Xanga and discover this community.   Sometimes when I look at the traffic, I get a bit discouraged.  This is a pretty decent site

Comments (30)

  • the two i miss are tinahawt and la_dolce_vida… i talk to dolce through fb though but tinahawt is officially gone from me =(. but yeah i think you might have to add me on that list in two years. i think if i ever do become a high school counselor that i might leave xanga forever. 

  • @sonychak - I just realized that you’ve been on Xanga since 2003 but I never came across your blog until recently.  (maybe Xanga is getting smaller?)  I think you’re a great asset to Xanga. 

  • @ElusiveWords - yeah sadly i am an oldie on here haha. but yeah thanks for that compliment. that is really nice to hear.

  • Several of those people are still on my subscriptions list.  I chat with Sion and Evan (ZenPaper) on facebook from time to time.  In fact, I messaged Sion to find out the name of the shoes that I wanted to check out and ended up buying.  I think Evan posted an entry recently, didn’t he?

  • This is a sad entry. 

    Yes, quite sad. 
    I… have a story sometimes. How can I etch a story in stone if I worry about those that may walk by and see my statue?

  • Well I’m still a relative newcomer to Xanga, so don’t know any of those you mention above, but it ‘is’ sad when people we have got to know well decide to move on elsewhere.

  • I remember some of these oldtimers =/  It’s sad.

    You know what’s interesting though… up until a few months ago, I would have been on this list too.  But I decided to return to Xanga.  Maybe some of them will too. :)

  • and i thought my name’s gonna pop up somewhere.  yeah, i miss epup too.

  • I do recognize most of those names. I think some have gone to facebook and similar sites. Hope they are all well.

  • OK … ZenPaper is doing lots of brief mobile posts on FB and seems to be doing well.
    As per Spacerboi, I’d blame NYC for his lack of blogging. Too much to do, too many interesting guys to meet.  Maybe he is too happy to blog!
    One more blogger that I miss (he actually deleted his blog) is Mattie / Hangshimkim who would crack me up from time to time with his posts and comments.  

  • @christao408 - I just wished they were back on Xanga land.  I was looking at my subscription list and wondered where they all went.  I know Evan did his usual cryptic update recently.  I don’t use any other social networking sites although I get questions from time to time if I’m on FB or Linkedin. 

    @secade - but there are new bloggers and writers like you that grace Xanga land now.

    @Chatamanda - yeah, good memories for me looking back.  I had started to trim my subscription list and wondered where they all went.  There’s always new bloggers like you though. 

    @arenadi - I’m glad you’re back here.  I never knew you that “well” back then.  You had lots of traffic (still do).  I remember every so often after you dropped off, I would check your site to see if there were any updates or any new comments. 

    @Renatojr3 - well, at least you still provide an update every so often. 

    @Fatcat723 - yep, you’re one of those that have been with me since my old days. 

    @TheLatinObserver - I just want Evan to return here, he was one of my original subscribers.  Oh the other Mattie (the more colourful, adventerous and original Mattie….) I’ve told him a few times he should write a book about his adventures. 

  • Matt, you do keep a good tab on your connections! I was also wondering where these people have gone. 

  • @CurryPuffy - I’m glad you’re still around. 

  • I know three of those.  I wonder what they’re doing now…

  • @ElusiveWords - Each and every tide is built of different waves…

  • @ElusiveWords - Hope I don’t make too bad a substitute Lol I’m not as skilled a writer as many others here.

  • i should be up there too…  i need to blog more often.  i will try to put up a food-pic blog later today or tomorrow though, assuming that my recipe comes out!

  • I think xanga is a great blogging community. I hope more people take advantage of this outlet.

  • Harold’s busy in MD studying for Ph.D. program in psychology,

    epup, Steven, just came up to a snowboarding with another friend, he just made music for Quentin’s newest film, The People I’ve slept with.

  • @sonychak - Leave, you!? Oh.. sadness. Let’s hope not… at least… hope that there’d be some activity once a month or so. . .

  • nice post Matt.

  • @arenadi - And I’m glad to have gotten to talk to you in that, and (when I have some time) to get to know you

  • Hmm…. people that were here before my time X_X. technically I’ve had the name since ’03… though I only started using it frequently as of the summer before last (Probably for the best… I’ve a bit of personal rantings scribbled on an LJ somewhere, and my MySpace I killed……. aaaaaand Fb, nobody reads what’s written -_-;; <3 this site, though)

  • Hey Matt!  I’m still here, just been reading and not writing!!  You’re too kind and sweet! Hope y’all are enjoying the spring weather out east that we’re getting here in the west!! ‘Til The Next

  • yeah… people come and go =p only those meant to be with us will remain :)

  • @kunhuo42 - hahaha… at least you do update every so often.

    @ZSA_MD - I agree, it’s too bad that the readership and traffic has gone down.

    @Wangium - now I know who to contact for information.

    @macphoto - thank you.

    @theacematt2 - a few folks have been bugging me to get on FB.  I’ve thought about moving to WP but I like the community here.

    @GracePrince - Yay!  I remember finding from Kelvin’s blog. 

    @lcfu - you have FB, Blogger, Xanga, Twitter…. you have no shortage of online (and real life) friends.

  • I’m not on the list, eh~
    but I rarely blog anymore…

  • wow haha, sadly i dont blog as often as i should, life has its funny way of pulling you in different directions. The odd thing is looking at that list i see a fair number of them in person on occasion. you’ve inspired me so i shall strive to blog more!

  • @tomatoboi - you still put out pictures every so often.  I do remember your older blogs and video blogs.  It’s too bad I don’t read Chinese though.

    @NanYu - *faints*  You’re still around!  I know you must be busy with your business. 

  • hey matt,

    i did a search for my username on the front page and it led me to this post. interesting, huh? i’m #1! was there a reason for that? was it roughly ABC order? now that i look again that’s what it looks like…

    i cleaned up my site. i hid all my entries because i didn’t want some wayward person stumbling across it and reading everything i had posted. i’m not sure if you’ll find this comment, since it’s on an old post of yours…but i hope you do.

    i’m still around. you know my email address.

    -michael

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *