March 21, 2010

  • My condo look a bit blase the other week.  I got some tulips which brightened up things.  I used to have fresh flowers a lot during the summer.  But I'm trying to watch my $.  This bunch was around $6 or $7 and lasted for about 10 days. 
     

    I've been calling my bf - "bf".  It's kinda odd - we're not boys anymore.  So from now on
    I'll call him "J" (don't ask...). 

    J and I were at a bookstore yesterday.  I picked up a Canadian Press Style Manual.  I hope to get the NY Times one eventually but that's a bit too pricey for me right now.   There was some guy who was at the accompanying Starbucks talking loudly on his cellphone.  "Your motherf*ck*r!  You think you can get away with this!"   Everyone stared at him.  He just walked into the bookstore and continued a profanity laced conversation.  He just walked throughout the sections and right into the kids sections.   Parents were ushering their kids out of the way.  One staff followed him discreetly and he eventually finished his call.  He looked perfectly calm afterwards and started to browse the books just like everyone.

    At another aisle, 1 teenage girl was talking to on her cellphone.  "I'm in the f*cking bookstore with a friend.  What do you want?"  I rolled my eyes.  I wished I was a bouncer and could throw these folks out. 

Comments (28)

  • yep. I hear ya on the cell phone thing. thats why I rec'ed this.

  • Oh yeah! I have heard that many times, and have turned around thinking its for me!!

  • Tulips! Such a homemaker you are! Flowers are quite pretty, but I don't think I've ever bought them before, outside of 'for a girl at aa dance' scenario.

  • I was in a Half Price bookstore last week and this guy was talking to a girl on his cell, really loud, trying to seduce her and tell her how he was the best one for her, in a very sexual way.  Funny thing is, I was in the poetry section, trying to read a romantic poem and kept thinking, "I should hand this poem to that guy.  It would work so much better!"

  • Me like tulips too.

  • I love tulips. =)  One of things I like is being able to wake up to a bouquet of fresh cut flowers.  I think it's a wonderful way to start the day by seeing something beautiful like that.  When I get my own place, I will surely have flowers around to brighten the room.

  • If I had been that 'staff' I would not have just followed him around like that, I'd have told him straight - stop the language or get out ! Same with that girl. Like you say, there are parents with children in store and they should not be made to hear this kind of foul language. 

    As for flowers, I don't buy fresh ones very often, but I do have some very realistic looking artificial ones that look very nice. And you don't have to worry about forgetting to keep the water topped up ! Lol

  • What is up with the language usage?  Uncalled for.  The other day on the Skytrain in Bangkok there were a few guys in their 20s - foreigners - who were swearing.  I barely resisted the urge to give them my thoughts about their language.

    Nice flowers.  That's something I like aobut living in Thailand - cheap and beautiful flowers.

  • M J, that has a nice ring to it. Smile!  Easy to remember, you see, I often called Majong games M J? hehe.   I love tulips also, and disdain people who use foul language in public areas.

  • I don’t get it - what does it even mean to be in a fucking bookstore? Can someone give me a synonym for “fucking” as it’s used in this context? I presume that she was in there of her own volition, and not enslaved and dragged in kicking and screaming. Maybe she was “merely” using the word for emphasis, as in “Stop calling me! I’m in the fucking bookstore.” I remember how it was such a big deal when someone said the “F word” in 4th grade, but now it hardly even registers on my system (although I do look down upon people who use it excessively).

    Nice picture of the tulips! Perfect for the spring.

  • @heart_beep - that is the best idea!

  • I enjoyed your blog. Heartbeep recommended you.

  • Wow in the kids section?

    I wish you would through them out -.-'

    They should at least know better.

  • I would have probably walked upto him and tapped him on the shoulder and pulled the cell phone out of his hand and told him to get out of the store. I cannot tolerate such crude and unethical behaviour from people. Grates on my ears.

    Neat tulips Mattie. Mine haven't bloomed yet. They will, if only this F*****g snow would stop. Ha ha ha ha ha. I thought that would get you!! I apologize. Couldn't help it.

  • Beautiful tulips will brighten up any room. I find myself amazed at the language used in public and more so by the "private" conversations or should be private conversations that I hear people sharing on cell phones in restaurants and coffee shops.

  • I am REALLY curious on that guy's backstory haha.

  • @ZSA_MD - Zakiah!  I'm glad to "hear" you say that!  It made me lol!

  • @christao408 - yes, especially those colourful orchids and other fragrant flowers offered to the temples.

  • is your bf's name john?

  • nice tulips.  i'm not a fan of flowers but i prefer tulips than any other kind of flowers out there.  simple looking but sophisticated.  as for "J"... mmm, i'm guessing it stands for jumbo or joy stick (if you think highly of your bf) or maybe jelly bean or jujube (if you think of him cute that way).  but i'm pretty sure it's not jerk (i'm sure he's nice) ;p

  • I've been known to curse if I'm at home but I really, really try not to if I'm out in public. It's just not pleasant!

  • Lovely tulips. They would truly brighten up your room. Thanks for sharing them here. 

  • @macphoto - you've been on this recommendation streak!    I have no idea what was on the minds of these people. 

    @Mal_P - this guy's voice pretty well drowned out the conversation at the coffee shop.  It was surreal... and rude.

    @secade - nah... I'm definitely not a homemaker. 

    @heart_beep - hahaha - oh, you should have.  I wonder what the guy would have thought if he knew his conversation wasn't that discreet.  Thank you for the rec.

    @yang1815 - yeah, it was just the thing to brighten up my condo that week.

    @osmundaregalis - I also have orchids (not flowering right now) and their blooms last for months!

    @Chatamanda - I think the staff are intimidated by these sort of folks.  You never know, especially with that guy, if he'll just go crazy.  Oh by the way, I did water artificial flowers once. 

    @christao408 - it is uncalled for....  I just don't know how these folks will react if I tell them off.  I mean, I'm not like Mike ... but I really want to kick them in the ass.  Oh I think it's great you have access to cheap and wonderful flowers there. 

    @stevew918 - we used to have tulips in the garden, it was one of the first flowers my mom learned to plant when we came to Canada.  As for MJ, well - he plays MJ, I don't.  I have watched him play several times and am completely lost.  Thanks for the rec.

    @Senlin - she was browsing and her friend was sitting on the floor reading.  I don't know what it is with kids.  The other guy was in his middle age.  Well, the tulips are gone now so I have to find more flowers.  Maybe some daffodils will do the trick.

    @queenie - thank you for dropping by, glad you like it. 

    @yorutenshi - I just don't know if these folks are dangerous or not.  The only thing I had to defend myself was a hardcover book.  Maybe I should have just hit him over the head and drag him out while he was unconscious.  Thanks for the rec.

    @ZSA_MD - oh hahahaha..... you had me on the floor!  I did not expect that.  You even have the right number of asterisks! 

    @Fatcat723 - it's just crazy.  I think the concept of sharing and respecting public space is completely foreign to some folks. 

    @Roadlesstaken - hard to tell - I don't know if someone was trying to rip him off and he just reacted or if he's like this all the time.

    @wutuwaitn4 - not really but bf sounds so high schoolish...  I just picked J. 

    @rudyhou - lol... if he read this he'll either blush, get ticked off or laugh. 

    @TheCheshireGrins - I have to watch my language as well but I try to keep control in public.

    @Vynor - thank you, I think flowers always cheer me up.

  • @ElusiveWords - Well that just proves my point on how realistic some artificial flowers look ! Lol bet you still felt a bit silly though after you'd watered them !

  • I meant to say M stand for Matt, and J stand for your bf.  M J means fun to play, lol. Teasing you. 

  • @stevew918 - hahaha - I did get the MJ reference hee hee..

  • wow tulips.... i want that in my room too...it's spring now... hohoho

    wow the man and girl... lol kinda sad for them... ><

  • So I have to be honest you are totally reasonable the same as at all times
    design shoes | how much are stamps | white vinegar

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment