February 14, 2011

  • Snippets

    Snippets:  what you write when you don't have enough words for a complete entry.

    1.  I was rushing through the lobby of the hospital to meet up with my dad.  My brother had driven him to the hospital for one of his appointments.  I had planned to meet him at the door.  On most days, he can make it in safely but his balance (even with a cane) can sometimes be a bit awkward.  It's easier and safer when my brother drives him and I wait for him by the door.  As I was walking past the blood clinic, I noticed it was overflowing with patients - most of them with cancer.  The crowd had spilled out to the hallway.  I quickly spot someone who didn't fit in the crowd.  It was a boy, probably around 14, maybe Chinese.  He had a tense and worried face.  He kept scanning the waiting room as if he was looking for someone.  I wanted to see if he was ok but I had to meet up with my dad.  At that age, he shouldn't be worried about friends or family being ill.  He's going to grow up fast... too fast. 

    2.  The cold wind was steady and relentless.   I thought I was ready for the cold wind.  I was dressed in layers, with fleece, goretex shell, a hat, scarf & gloves.  I thought my pants were thick enough but the wind quickly seized the upper hand.  I quickened my pace hoping that would warm up my legs.  But that didn't work.  The cold air had a tight grip on my crotch and won't let go.  I finally got to the streetcar stop.  There was about 10 people there already.  I was hoping that it meant the next car would be by soon.  But I was too optimistic.  The cold wind continued to blow through me while I waited.  As if that wasn't bad enough, I noticed someone standing behind me was using me as a wind barrier.  Was it a reminder for me to get back to the gym.  I was too cold to care. 

    3.  I wish my legs were a couple of inches longer.  A lot of my casual pants have frayed cuffs.  It's too expensive to get them altered so I just fold them up a bit.  But that only delays the inevitable.  Once the fabric starts to fray, the washing machine and dryer seem to claw at the fabric.  It doesn't take long before all my pants are like that.  I search through my closet to find some newer pants.  I grab a clean black cotton pants.  Odd... I wonder if there was something wrong with it.  Yep, this is the one with the zipper that unzips itself.  I find another one.  I did a check and found a hole in the crotch.  If only sweat pants were acceptable work attire. 

    4.  I don't understand why hospitals have incredibly bad waiting times.  Dad's appointments are never on time.  One doctor is usually 2 hours late.  We waited once for almost 3 hours.  Tests and treatments are the same.  We show up at the appointed times and are simply told to wait.  In one area, they give you a pager just like the ones you get in a restaurant.  But in other areas, the receptionist mumbles your name while sitting behind a thick glass wall.  She'll look around and wonder why no one is responding.  One of these days, I'm going to go berserk and just lose it.  But for now, I just bite my tongue and try to calm my dad down.  

     

Comments (14)

  • I had similar problem with #3, hehe.  Time to clear my closet of old pants.

    #4,  Canada universal medical care has its drwaback sometimes. :(

  • Snippets. I like that word and definition.

    Snippet 1: You are so right about that. So sad if someone he loves has cancer.
    Snippet 2: This one made me smile. "The cold air had a grip on my crotch...." Wowza! That can't be good!
    Snippet 3: I have the same problem. And I have frayed pants cuffs, a pair where the zipper does it's own thing, and ones with holes all kinds of places! Ack!
    Snippet 4: Good that you are there to calm your Dad and be with him. Yes, hospitals are very frustrating places.

    HUGS!

  • I have to agree with all the snippets. Sweatpants to work YAYAYA! I hate waiting for appointments. I have seen that look on young people as they await the announcement of the doctor concerning a loved one. But then again what is the right age.

  • Four snippets equals one complete entry?  Is this the new metric system?

  • I use to have to wait 3-4 hours everytime i had to see my doctor... even in leg casts and in a wheel chair, there was just no choice. i'd have to wake up at 5-6 AM sometimes... it was pretty terrible.

  • I don't like hospitals...I mean we have awesome (hotel-like) hospitals here but I still don't like it.

  • I can see more snippets coming thru soon! Good idea!

  • 1. That's so depressing. :( I wonder if he fully understands what's going on...

    2. "The Cold air had a tight grip on my crotch and wouldn't let go," - one of the best lines I've read in the longest time!

    4. Seriously! I wish they could stay on top of their schedule... One time my friend was extremely ill and we ended up staying for 5 hrs waiting for them to being their first test. After the 5 hours though, we gave up and went home.

  • I like a cold wind.

  • It was gut wrenching to read about that little boy in #1.

    Yeah and get some new wool pants, Matt.

  • @stevew918 - I've packaged a bunch of the really old ones for recycling (I doubt if anyone will want to wear them). 

    @adamswomanlost - I post snippets from time to time.  I have a few sentences here and there but not enough for a full entry.

    @Fatcat723 - I suppose there is no right age.  I just hope the kid has some support.

    @christao408 - lol... I didn't plan to work it out that way. 

    @secade - the wait is just brutal.  I waited once with my dad in the emergency for over 3 hours.  The parking bill was almost $50 that day.

    @oxyGENE_08 - yeah, I don't like it either.  I sort of have gotten used to it.  Hospitals seem to be like small villages with their own systems and culture.

    @CurryPuffy - I post these from time to time when I don't have enough to write about.

    @Devilzgaysianboi - oh yikes - 5 hours of waiting... that is just brutal.  I'm glad you liked the line in #2.

    @ZSA_MD - I guess you've seen more than your share of these heart breaking experiences.  Yeah, I got to get some thicker pants (or wear long underwear on those cold days).

  • @yang1815 - eeek.... this wind just seemed to cut through me. 

  • @ElusiveWords - It's terrible. I can't imagine how a doctor could end up with a schedule that forces those sorts of delays anyways.

  • @ElusiveWords - You missed the joke.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment