April 1, 2011

  • Have a good weekend

    I broke one of my blogging rules with yesterday’s entry.  I never really wanted to post family issues in public.  I’m always leery about someone who knows me in real life will stumble on my blog.  If that happens…  c’est la vie.  Even though I blog anonymously, I still try to blur some of the facts.  I usually say things like “the other day, a distant relative, someone I know, recently…” – it’s never specific.  For some of you who blog publicly, I’m sure there are things you can’t write about.  It’s tough to be very open because you never know who is reading this (an employer?  an ex? a family member?). 

    Protected entries is something I thought about.  But I’m kinda old school.  When I stumbled on blogs ages ago, I was impressed by how open and sharing folks were.  I read a lot of thought provoking entries.  Usually these are very personal things that people write about.  There were some entries that I never thought people would post publicly.  When I started blogging, I thought perhaps one day if people stumble on my blog, they might find an entry or two that would be thought provoking.  Since then I never used the protected entry feature in Xanga.  It was my way of paying back to others. 

    I know these are just fleeting moments we have here.  Have a good weekend everyone. 

     

Comments (10)

  • I feel exactly the same way about everything you said.  :)

  • i agree, blogging is kind of an odd thing…  i have such anonymity, and yet there are still things that i hesitate to post.  what i’m afraid of, i’m not sure.  most of the people that i knew first in person before i started reading their blogs have long since stopped posting on xanga. but i guess at some point it is possible that i will run into the people who read my blogs now.  of course, i haven’t posted anything thought-provoking in a while!

    this weekend i’m running the cherry blossom 10 miler, so it should be a good weekend.  i hope you have a good weekend too!

  • The way I see it. This is YOUR blog, just like I have MY own blog. I feel as long as it’s yours, your entitled to say what you want, when you want, and how you want as long as I guess it doesn’t hurt anyone. I never really wanted to get personal on my blogs but sometimes, saying things directly helps.
    me. A fellow blogger,friend I’ve met in person before I found they blogged recently blocked me out and wrote a brutal entry about me,even though they kept me anonymous and it was just stupid… but I don’t care, I still continue doing what I love and that’s blogging.

  • So true, especially nowadys everyone can Goole anyone’s screen name, and here comes all the secrets! Have a good weekend!

  • I feel like I should use protected posting more often.  There’s certainly topics that I don’t feel as comfortable talking about in public in fear that work or family members may see.

  • Do it do it do it~

  • I can only have 10 people on my protected list. :(

  • I want to be on your protected list if you decide to go with it.

    Persoanlly, I don’t think it is wrong to air your feelings out. That’s what journalism is all about, whether in the confines of a blog, or out on the front page of a newspaper. If someone from the immediate family reads, I hope that person will have the class to congratulate you on your courage.

  • I do agree with you Matt – xanga is different in that from other sites. I don’t do private posting either and believe it or not all my posting are personal as they are about me.

  • As near as I can figure, your identity is already incredibly well protected.  You don’t give many specific details, even as you write very personal and thoughtful posts.  That said, I think many of us who blog ask ourselves how to balance privacy with expression.  When I recently posted the entry about the wine that has the same name as my employer, I thought a long while about it.  I’ve never shared the name of my employer before.  But, then, I never write about work anyhow.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *