August 10, 2011

  • Snippets

    Snippets:  a collection of senseless tidbits strung together incoherently.

    1.  I go to this Chinese barbershop where the staff the staff always answers the phone in Cantonese.  The barber who cuts my hair always chats with me in English.  But he seldom answers the phone.  So before I call to make an appointment, I have to mentally rehearse what I want to tell them when I call.  One time I didn’t rehearse and almost asked to make a reservation for a table.  This time, my barber answers the phone.  But my mouth is already babbling in faux Cantonese and i made an appointment.  After I hung up, I realized he didn’t even ask my name.  As he was snipping away, I asked him if he knew that was me that called.  He said “No, I didn’t recognize your voice.  It sounded like a westerner calling.”  I scowled “But I was speaking in Cantonese to you!”.  He sort of shrug and diplomatically replied “Oh… you sound different on the phone.”  Somewhere up there, my mom must be shaking her head.

    2.  Air conditioning and I don’t get along. I just can’t stand a cold room.  The place I’m working at lately has bone chilling AC.  I have to go outside to warm myself.  I actually wear a light sweater indoors.  It’s the same at my dad’s place.  I always have to reset the thermostat when I get there.  If I don’t bring a jacket or sweater, I wrap myself in a towel.  Even during the heatwave, I would bring my laptop out to the porch and work there because it was more comfortable.  But when I sleep, I prefer a cool bedroom where I can snuggle underneath my blanket. 

    3.  Sleep and I continue to have a very tense relationship right now.  A few days ago, I went to bed early but woke up at 2:30AM and couldn’t get back to sleep.  I managed to sleepwalk through work.  Another day, I tossed and turn until 3 before falling asleep.  I wish my mind and my body would be on the same time zone.

    4.  While navigating through a busy sidewalk, I noticed a woman across the street handing out flyers.  Normally this wouldn’t catch my attention but she was picky about who she was giving her flyers too.  When the light turned green, I cross the intersection and kept an eye on her.  She would scan around and then give some random person a flyer.  When I got near her, she walked up to me and gave me a flyer.  I looked down at it.  It was a coupon for gym membership.  censored  ok ok.. I get the hint. 

    5.  I never noticed this about myself before but I like to check out people’s toes.  I’ve caught myself several times looking at guy’s toes when they are wearing sandals, slippers or flip flops.  I don’t know why I like to look at them.  I’m curious what people do with their toes when they are in the throes of an orgasm.  Some clench them, so open them wide, some curl them…  So if you catch me staring at your toes and looking a bit distracted, you’ll know what’s on my mind.  Now that I’ve written this, I doubt if I’ll ever show my face to anyone here.  *reaches for sunglasses* 

    (ed. note:  omg Matt… you have a foot fetish!)

Comments (22)

  • ha ha ha, remind me to shave my toes, a couple blonde hairs grown on them time to time, gross!  (don’t let thecrimesofdougmoe get hold of this blog, LOL!)

  • What really? No AC? Oh man, I couldn’t stand my room with no AC a couple weeks ago when it was 48 degree C with humidity, my roommate and I woke up in the middle of the night to go to McDonalds… dollar drinks ftw x)

    And oddly enough this post got me looking at my own toes and I can’t quite stop starring at it….

  • Those are some hilarious snippets haha.  Note to self: do not wear flip flops near Matt.

  • Regarding number one: Ha ha ha….

    I remember the days when I had to rehearse my Thai in my head before calling or speaking with someone.  The days when I need to do that are fewer, although I do find myself out of my depth sometimes.

  • @Diva_Jyoti_3 - lol… toe hairs are fine. 

    @life365days - cars w/ strong AC especially when the vents are blowing directly on me drive me nuts.  I can’t work in 48 degree rooms either, just normal is fine.  Don’t stare at your toes too long.

    @Roadlesstaken - hahaha – and wear extra socks to cover up those toes of yours. 

    @christao408 - your Thai is a lot better than my Chinese. 

  • Haha~These snippets tell us something about the interesting side of Mattie! I never knew you have a toe fetish! @_@

  • Matt, you are so funny, esp number 1 and 4.   As for number 5, I thought you were checking out our shoe sizes, hehe.  This is a very enjoyable blog reading session.  Perfect way for me to go to bed smiling. Wish you nite nite!  I hope you have sweet dreams tonight, as I will be dreaming and laughing at your sense of humor. :)

  • Oh wait, you Canadians need/have ACs?!

  • i’m with dezinerdreams.  i mean, c’mon matt.  you call yourself canadian? tsk tsk tsk…  as for no.4  lol… poor matty.  n yes matt, you have a toe fetish!  i take it your toes are always nicely trimmed and moisturized, no?

  • “”No, I didn’t recognize your voice.  It sounded like a westerner
    calling.”  I scowled “But I was speaking in Cantonese to you!”.  He sort
    of shrug and diplomatically replied “Oh… you sound different on the
    phone.”  Somewhere up there, my mom must be shaking her head.” HAHAHAHA SMH :P

    And duuuude that’s creepy! I’m keeping my shoes on RAWR :P .

  • LOL Foot Fetish! :p You really seem like an interesting person. I’d love to meet you someday…but you’re ELUSIVE so good luck to me. haha

  • Somehow I am not surprised as I have been reading your posts for sometime. Not sure about a foot fetish but who cares.

  • I seriously lol’d at the ed. note.

  • Yes foot fetish indeed! That conversation with the barber was funny. I liked these snippets Mattie. I know about the sleep problem,.I have fought with it for ever and ever. More so now. i am hoping that after the knee surgery either it will get better, OR i will be so addicted to pain killers, I wouldn’t care! Pfffttt!

  • I like the heat myself. Much more comfortable than dealing with cold weather. 

    Gym membership… gah.
    Sleeping seems to work around writing, like it’s only after your body stops that you can really think about stories. I keep a notebook by the bed because writing keeps me awake so much. 
    Neat snippets. ^_^ 

  • @CurryPuffy - well Gary, it’s just a mild curiosity…. not a real fetish.   hahaha…. I’ll have to figure out how to write another one of these fetishes…

    @stevew918 - I hope you got a good night sleep Steve!  And thanks for recommending.

    @Dezinerdreams - oh yeah Vivek, we do have AC (not all houses or apartments though).  There are a couple of weeks when it’s really hot.  My dad also has allergies so when it’s really bad, he shuts the windows and turns on the AC.

    @rudyhou - neatly trimmed and moisturized – oh Rudy, I don’t really do much with my toes or feet.  I did go for a foot massage recently and it felt great!

    @pika_whoosh - well Matthew, I have x ray vision!

    @oxyGENE_08 - I can be pretty boring in real life Gene. 

    @Fatcat723 - hee hee… you’re one of my long time subscribers Rob! 

    @supanamja - I hope you didn’t choke.

    @ZSA_MD - well Zakiah, I hope we’ll both find a way to get a restful night of sleep.  Thank you for recommending. 

    @Frost_Velissir - thank you, I like the idea of keeping a notebook by the bed.  Maybe I’ll try that too. 

  • matt…you and your foot fetish :) as for cantonese, you can always speak cantonese to anyone you know who speaks it and eventually you’ll get better. if you’re thinkin about gym, you can try p90x or insanity. those are pretty fun work out :P

  • @icebladz - I was thinking of one of those home exercise programs too.  This sounds crazy, but I’m snacking away and completely engrossed on those P90X / Insanity informercials.  Even my bf can’t keep a straight face when I speak Cantonese.  I hope you’re doing well – haven’t seen you around lately.

  • @ElusiveWords - Whatever! As long as there is food, I won’t be bored. LOL

  • That last one is, uh, interesting. 

    The first story reminds me of a time in Korea where I made an in-person reservation at a restaurant that was very busy. It was upscale, and I had to wait about 20 minutes. When they finally prepared my table, the host had switched and when they called out my name, they were really confused because I had given them my Korean name. I responded, they repeated it three times in front of all the other people waiting as well as all the patrons that could hear… It was really embarrassing, only more so that I was clearly on a date with another guy. Sigh.
    Okay, looking back, that’s actually not very related at all, but I already typed it out.

  • Foot fetish Matty!!!

    I laughed at #4.

  • @secade - I’ve always enjoyed your stories, even your comments are like stories. 

    @yang1815 - grrr…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *