September 21, 2011

  • Insight

    While I was traveling last week, I had some odd moments of “insight”.  It’s an odd feeling, almost as if someone was trying to tell me something.  On the flight to Ottawa, I was reading my book.  When I looked out the window, I noticed the clouds below had gradually parted.  I saw many shades of green, brown and yellow with some sprinkling of red.  Rivers, ponds and small lakes were scattered throughout.  I put down the book and marveled at the show. There were farms with their fields like patches on a quilt.  The fields were mostly squares and rectangles with fuzzy borders.  Many had jagged boundaries bordering rivers and trees.  I wanted to tell everyone on the plane to look out and enjoy the beauty.  Instead the subtle and demur nature show left me pondering – what am I doing here? 

    That evening, I walked to Parliament Hill.  The dark sandstone buildings looked so nice as they basked in the setting sun.  There were still some tourists laughing while posing for pictures.  I looked around but I knew I had to get dinner and start preparing for my customer meeting the next day.  I didn’t want to leave yet.   took one last, longing look at the sight before I went for dinner. It wasn’t a satisfying dinner even though the food was ok.  There was just the feeling of emptiness.

    There were also 2 taxi rides that week that caught my attention  As I left work early evening, I stood in the front door and waited for my cab.  A rain storm had just passed. The sun came out to play briefly before it set.  The air had this clean smell.  I found myself inhaling deeply as if the air was a drug.  It took awhile for the cab to show up but I didn’t mind.  The clouds were chasing each other in the sky and slowly changing shapes.  A crow was flying back and forth between trees.  The cab eventually showed up.  As he pulled out of the lot, he stopped in the middle of the street and asked how I wanted to get back to the hotel.  I shrugged and told him to just pick the fastest route.  He took a route that I never took before.  We passed corn fields with their wonderful shades of green.  At first I thought he was heading in the wrong direction but I decided to just enjoy the scenery.  There were joggers running beside the fields.  I wanted to join them but I won’t have lasted long.  Eventually the fields gave way to buildings and we were headed downtown. 

    On my last day, another cab driver took a different route to the airport.  We drove slowly along a park by the Rideau Canal. It was a slow drive and I absolutely enjoyed the scenic drive.  I’ve never taken this route before.  It just seemed surreal. The stress of the trip slowly melted away. 

    As I sit and write this entry, I’m under a fair bit of pressure from work.  I’m working every night lately.  It’s an empty feeling.  It’s unsettling when you hear your mgm’t team isn’t happy with you.  But there are still more signs.  At lunch time, I chance across an article, “If you had a week to live what would you do?”. And tonight, Coldplay was playing a free concert here in the city.  I watched the simulcast on the internet and tried to do some work.  I smiled when I recognized the intro to Fix You.  Instead Chris Martin sings a few lines from Amy Winehouse’s Rehab before launching in to Fix You. I thought of my first Xanga friend Kelvin.  These were 2 of his favorite musicians although Madonna was always his number 1 favorite.  The memories made me smile. I hope he’s happy and his soul is in peace. 

    “When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
    When you get what you want, but not what you need
    When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
    Stuck in reverse”

    Yes, I think I need lots of fixing.

     

     

Comments (17)

  • I can feel that air after the rain storm Matt. Really and truly. You described the whole trip so succinctly. I hope and pray that the management gives you a thumbs up.

  • The universe is telling you to take it easy. I hope your busy world will slow down just a touch so you can catch a breather.

  • I enjoyed reading your detailed description of stuff happening around.  Sounds like you do have a good insight regarding your job. I dreaded the moments when I have to work late at the office too! 

  • this reminds me of myself about 2 years ago.  I was stuck in a corporate job doing something I didn’t care for, had a blackberry, traveled the US, ate steak, and was completely miserable…I did what others told me not to do and left my job to pursue something I was passionate about, and now I’m working in a non-profit helping the community, and it’s hard work, but it’s something I believe in and fills me up.  I also believe in a work life balance, but if you can figure out how to pursue what makes you happy, or somehow find a work life balance, life becomes better.  Money isn’t everything, spending your time and doing things that matter to you is.  In any case, I hope things gets better for you.

  • @ZSA_MD - it’s kinda stressful right now.  But I’ll survive and your prayers will help.  Thanks for the rec Zakiah.

    @CurryPuffy - yes, insight needs action though.  I hope things are going well with you Gary.

    @Closure_Theory - I agree with you.  I hope it’ll slow down a lot.  I think I need some peace and quiet.

    @aPieceOfTheSky - thank you for sharing your experiences – I appreciate it.

  • The cold reality of your problems with management are clear to you. You may think life is not being fair to you. Times like these, its best to check things out with yourself, the rights and the wrongs and try to move forward. All the best on a more positive outcome

  • Slow down and literally breathe a bit.  Nice deep s l o w breaths.  Look to the future.  Where do you want to be next year?  In 2 years?  Etc.  You have gotten into a rut.  I’m in one as well. Find your way out.  If you have no idea where you want to go, you won’t get there.   Thoughts and prayers, Matt.

  • Don’t forget your talent to write descriptively!! You know to sit down and take a breathe. Relax yourself. Non Carborundum est. I think that is correct – translation if I remember —Don’t let the bastards get you down,. The glass really is half-full..

  • Yeah we all feel like that at times.  Hope your work stuff goes better though!  xoxo

  • It seems like you had an enlightening trip. Honestly, I found a bit of myself in Ottawa as well when I was there for a previous work term. It’s an interesting city. Were you travelling alone then? I find that the mind tends to wander on to topics such as these when you’re on your own. Perhaps it knows there aren’t many chances for them. Smell the roses my friend :) Next time you’re in Ottawa, do take a stroll along the river front, it’s all trails. Get yourself a beavertail too.

  • I am actually tearing up a bit reading this. As always, I want it to work out for you :)

  • @The_Eyes_Of_A_Painter - that’s good advice – thank you. 

    @Toro69 - thank you for those words of wisdom as well, I hope you and I will get out of this rut soon.  Do take care.

    @Fatcat723 - Rob – thank you for always being so supportive.    I know the glass is half full and I always need to count my blessings. 

    @yang1815 - I hope so too Andy, thanks for dropping in again after your long “absence”.

    @AzureRecollections - yeah, I was traveling alone on business.  It’s tough getting approval for travel nowadays but I like Ottawa.  I have to make sure I find some more free time to explore the city.

    @stepaside_loser - oh Andrew, I didn’t mean to make you tear up (even just a bit).  As always thank you for being there virtually.

  • Coldplay was playing a free concert in your city?  I thought they were going on a European tour.  I yearn so badly to go to a Coldplay concert!

  • You always seem so unhappy and stressed out from your job…

  • @ElusiveWords - Not absent.  Always thinking about you Matty.  Just busy ;)

  • @Autumn_Bell - it was a free promo concert held at the parking lot of a local TV station.  You can watch clips here http://www.muchmusic.com/coldplay.  If you ever get a chance, you should go.  It’s worth it.

    @secade - you’re right Colin,  the pressures form work suck.  But it pays the bills. 

    @yang1815 - thanks Andy, appreciate it. 

  • @ElusiveWords - Of course my friend!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *