May 6, 2012

  • My Dad’s Ancient Friends

    I took dad to the bookstore the other day.  He’s always told me his books are his friends since he doesn’t have any close friends.  The last time I took him there, he leaned on his cane as he crouched gingerly looking for books that would interest him.  He hated the cane and didn’t want to use his walker.  He staunchly declared “I’m not like those other old folks.”  I would suffer minor heart attacks as he shakily bent over and peer at the titles.  This time though, he came prepared with a list.  I was surprised.  We soon found a salesperson and my dad gave her the list.

    The list was carefully written with his must have books by 10 authors.  He was also clear that if that book wasn’t available, he would consider others.  The sales clerk looked at the list.  The first name was Albert Camus.  She asked “Albert Camus is the first author?”  “Yes, Alber-kamu”, my dad gently corrected her (and me too).  She went to the computer and searched.  His handwriting was clear despite a couple of fingers gnarled by arthritis.  I see the others on the list  Descartes, Gibbon, Cicero and more.   While I recognized some of the names – the others were a mystery to me and I have already forgotten them by now.  I feel like such an illiterate idiot.  

    Some of the books were at the store and some weren’t.  She went to the shelves to get the books while we sat down and returned within a few minutes.  He got his prized “The Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire – Volume 1 to 6″.  I warned him that the price was a bit steep (over $150 for the 6 volumes).  But he said it’s six books so it’s not that bad.  I lugged the books with one hand, held his arm with the other and we both shuffled over to the cashier.  The bill was over $200.  He feigned surprise and hinted at a seniors discount.  I almost told the clerk that he buys these books with what’s left from his measly pension.  He pulled out his Amex and signed it with a deep sigh.  But I knew he was almost giddy with joy. 

    As soon as we got home, I put the books on the table by his chair.  Within minutes, he pounced on the first book.  I went off to the kitchen to make dinner for him.  During dinner, he told me about the author Edward Gibbon.  He practically gave me his bio.  I checked online afterwards and was it matched.  He has a lot of books so I asked him if he might already have these books somewhere.  He said he didn’t.  He told me he came across an article about one of the books and realized how much he wanted to read them.  He said a lot of these books are classics that scholars have prized.  He was kicking himself for not getting these books earlier.  I keep thinking though that he probably has some of these books before.  But I didn’t really mind.  I realized in some ways, this was his bucket list and he was happy getting these books.

    He lamented to me that none of his neighbours were serious scholars and readers.  After dinner, I washed the dishes while he went back to the living room sofa to be with his new friends.

     

     

Comments (34)

  • Oh, how nice, at least your dad has something to spend his mind on reading books.  My dad mostly watches tv all day, or dozes off to sleep. :)

  • @CurryPuffy - he dozes off too especially when he doesn’t sleep well at night.  Although he will say he was just resting his eyes.  He watches TV too – mostly BBC news, National Geographic and History Channel.  How is your dad’s health?

  • Oh, that’s a delightful story. I like your dad for getting such great works! LOL You are right, probably he has those books already somewhere. Sounds like you guys had a better day.

  • @beowulf222 - yeah I agree, I would call it a pretty good day.  I was joking with him that he should read the last few pages of Volume 6 so he can get to the ending faster.  

  • @ElusiveWords - He is very healthy and has appetite, especially when having meals with us.  I just had a long distance phone call with him, he sounded very delighted to hear my voice! :P

  • Those friends seem to become more and more important as time goes on!  Good for your dad!

  • i like his friends, though mine are mostly younger and not scholarly.  i wouldn’t mind accompanying him to the bookstore myself, though he may complaint about the time i spend at the store.  none of my friends can stand waiting for me when i’m in a book store.  it’s like being in a candy store for me.

  • We need to always give our mind wings. Books are a great avenue to help our mind take us places we never went before

  • Ah your Dad found some of my friends. Books have been my friends for many, many years. They take me with them as I leave my home to visit with them. Hope your Dad enjoys his friends.

  • He has good taste in friends.   Maybe he has read some of it before, but there is nothing wrong with getting reacquainted with old friends. I almost envy him in a way, I used to read a lot but no time these days.

  • This made me smile… I identify with your dad in a few ways. 

  • I’m sure he’s head strong vol 3 by now ^_^ Glad you took the time to share and I hope he’s enjoying the reading! I didn’t start reading for enjoyment until about 2 years ago and now I love a good book that interest me so I can understand where his excitement comes from!

    Peace and Love

  • wonderful story…it made me think of my own dad who has a heavy book collection, and come to think of it, not too many friends. But I’m glad to hear that there are other guys out there like my dad, so I don’t have to worry so much about him.

  • Have you ever thought about writing and submitting creative non-fiction to journals?  I think it would be well worth your time if you don’t already.  This is an amazing story.

  • that’s really cool. 

  • @rudyhou - Ditto. My husband almost won’t let me go to a book store. Last time we did, we had an hour or more to kill because we didn’t realize how late the Lego store opened. I used up that time and he still had to half drag me away. As a child (fifth grade?), I was once grounded from reading. Try explaining that one to your teacher.

  • It’s always strange and almost unnerving to find someone with a closer relationship with their books than I have. I am a self-claimed bibliophile, yet I’ve read very few classics and though I recognize the names above, I haven’t ever read any of their things. Perhaps I should make better attempts.

  • MATTIE! OMG, how wonderful that you shared those moments with him. You could have easily told him that you could get those books at Amazon. ( I got one book recently that has been out of publication since the early ’50′s) for half that price. But how marvelous that you took him there and let him have the pleasure, actually happiness, with the purchase of his books.

    I have a couple of poems/ prose texts about “my friends” too in the book that is coming out fairly soon. I loved this post dear friend.

  • I love this post! I work in a bookstore, and your dad could totally be one of my customers. (I’m so glad people are still shopping at bookstores.)

  • @secade -   Yes, make an attempt.  You will be richly rewarded.

  • @CurryPuffy - that’s great to hear Gary, I smiled when I read your comment  .

    @slmret - you’re right – it’s a great way for him to keep his mind sharp and to continue his love of learning.

    @rudyhou - I can be like that in a book store too.  It’s one of my favorite places to visit. 

    @catstemplar2 - I love your comment! 

    @Fatcat723 - I thought you would enjoy this entry Rob and I’m glad you did.  I’m sure if you saw the list, you would have recognized all the authors.

    @Toro69 - hi Fred, it’s tough finding quiet time to read.  I have a book beside my bed for about a month and I think I’ve only gotten about 3 or 4 pages in.  I hope we’ll both be able to carve some time out to do some reading soon.   Thank you for the rec.

    @Passionflwr86 - it made me smile too – thanks for visiting. 

    @diditdreaming - hahaha… I was asking him “Are you at Volume 6 yet?” and he just laughed.  Thank you for the rec. 

  • @aPieceOfTheSky - my dad has a lot of health issues.  I think the books keep his mind sharp and help ease his loneliness. 

    @polowhatever272 - thank you for visiting and the compliment.  I haven’t thought of submitting anything but someday I do want to try my hand at writing.

    @f5ye_angel5 - thank you. 

    @secade - he can’t bear to throw out any books and magazines.  It just pains him.  I haven’t read a lot of the classics either.  But I think if I wanted to write better, I need to start learning from the masters.

    @ZSA_MD - he wants to see how big the print is, how white the paper is (for better contrast).  My brother did order some books online if they are hard to find.  But it’s hard to find large print books.  I’m glad you enjoyed this entry.  You’re a master with words.  Thank you too for the rec.

    @reginasikora - thank you – I’m glad you enjoyed the entry.  I sent an email to the store to commend the employee for being so helpful. 

  • books are excellent companions, especially the classics — those books that are often ignored or misunderstood so often can entertain you with wonderful stories if only you let them.  recently, i’ve decided that i need to educate myself and have started picking up some of the “classics.”  the best part is that most of them are free e-books on amazon!

  • @kunhuo42 - I actually wasn’t into reading and literature at school.  I was ok with Mark Twain but when Shakespeare, Thomas Hardy and Chaucer showed up, I ran away.  I forgotten some of these are free now.  I should get back to reading them.

  • @VampireOfSeduction - grounded for reading too much??  if only i had such enthusiasm when i was young.  i was never a good student.  reading was a boring activity for me, unless it involved comics :)

  • @ElusiveWords - most of the time, i’d just jot down the name of authors / titles of books that i came across and liked, on my iphone, so that i can further check them out online.  this way i won’t be wasting too much of my friends’ time.  i also prefer to go to go back to the bookstore alone.    this way i’d have no pressure.

  • @VampireOfSeduction - I just realized I skipped over your comment… my apologies.  I love your passion for reading.  This is the first time I’ve heard anyone grounded for reading too much.  

  • aww!! i bet your dad would be interesting to talk to since he’s read so many great books.

  • Glad your dad enjoys his books. They say if you have books, you will never be without friends.

  • @islandgypsygirl - he is quite interesting to talk to, he always enjoys a good conversation. 

    @christao408 - books are fine and while you can take them to bed with you, I also want human friends too.  (not necessarily to take them to bed….I don’t even know where I’m going with this.)

  • Too bad your in Canada side, Amazon.com is an amzing story in US side I love buy books over on amazon,

    My dad love chinese books, I don’t know how to search those books for him. … My dad said, I need to learn more of read chinese. lol. 

  • Wonderful share, Matt. I admire your dad for reading so well, at his age. It’s such a contrast to my parents whose English isn’t so good. I hope to follow your dad’s lead in reading when I’m his age.

  • @vsan79 - yeah, I did a quick check of Amazon.ca vs Amazon.com – the US site has a lot more things.  As for Chinese books, I won’t have a clue how to search for them.  My mom enjoyed reading a lot of Chinese books.

    @stepaside_loser - both my parents loved to read at an early age.  My mom read Chinese books although she read gardening books in English to learn how to take care of her garden.  I have a feeling you’ll enjoy reading for many, many decades. Sometimes J and I will head to a coffee shop to read. 

  • That is so cute!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *