January 9, 2013

  • Chained to Work

    The stress from work hasn’t let up.  The small team I work in is short staffed and it looks like it’ll remain that way for a few more months.  I work almost every night now including a few hours on the weekends.  One of my colleagues has retired.  He told me he was glad he retired on his on terms and didn’t get laid off.  We shared the same sense of humour and despite our very different backgrounds, we got along very well.  He listened when I had to vent, helped pushed back on management and provided some common sense advice.  My manager caught me off guard the other day when he asked me how long I still want to do this job.  I said a year or two at the most.  When I look around my company, I don’t really see a lot of good jobs.  But I think I need to reboot my network and see what is out there.  I just feel so fatigued and depressed by work.

     

     

Comments (20)

  • I’ve always heard people say that the best time to look for a job is while you have one. Maybe they’ll hire someone who’ll not only ease the workload but also be pleasant to work with. Here’s hoping!

  • maybe change to another working environment is not a bad idea…. 

  • Never hurts to look over the job market – and while you have a job. Good Luck

  • Start looking.  I had a secure decent paying job with good benefits.  A colleague fairly far up the management chain of command that I got along with very well told me he was planning to retire the following year.  That was my signal to start looking over my options.

  • I’m sorry the stress level is high. It’s always difficult to do your best 
    and to appreciate having the job when you’re over loaded. 

      Wishing you well as always my friend,
    *~matthew~*

  • Sorry to hear about your work anguish. I can relate to it. Hope it will get better.

  • I’m beginning my reboot right now; wanna go back to Engineering school with me? I’ve got two schools in Toronto on my list ^^

  • I am at that point in my work life too that I’ve decided to consider applying for immigration somewhere you might know.

  • gosh, sorry to hear, matt.  another friend shared the same sentiment.  that he’s thinking of changing job and perhaps in a different continent.  he wants a new challenge.  now he has looked into opportunities and hoping to get feed backs. IF you do decide to change job, please take a vacation first.  just so you could have time for yourself for a little bit.  hugs.

  • Definitely start networking. I’m finding it very valuable for my job search. (Of course, have to see if it actually pays off!)

  • a network reboot is a great idea matt. furthermore, i think a more constant network reshuffling is important given the technologies that permeate our daily lives – what information/skill you picked up may be new today but superfluous in 6 months. 

  • @TutelageOfTheMundane - I’ve heard that too.  They did transfer another person into the team.  He is experienced but he is still trying to shed his former responsibilities.

    @agmhkg - you might be right. 

    @Fatcat723 - yeah, it’s time to check around.

    @Toro69 - my manager isn’t giving me the impression that he values my work – I think all the signs are there that I need to start looking.

    @bleuzeus - thank you for the good wishes – it’s always appreciated.

    @beowulf222 - I hope it gets better too.  It’s a lot worse when we don’t meet our numbers.

    @secade - hmm… are you serious?  I know you have been here before.  Hmm…

    @oxyGENE_08 - are you going to check out Singapore again? 

    @rudyhou - a vacation would be good.  It’ll be a bit tricky going away with my dad’s health. 

    @christao408 - I have very little contacts outside of work (a fatal mistake).  But I also think that if I get turfed, I really have no interest in getting back into IT anymore. 

    @l0311879l - it’ll be those transferable skills (e.g. communication, interpersonal, organizational) that I believe will be useful.  I work in the IT industry but I’m really not an IT kinda guy.

  • Hang in there, Matt! 

  • Recently lost my job a week ago and you know what? I feel fricken awesome! I have all the time in the world to do all the important things that I want to do :) .

  • @kachino - oh no… what happened?  I mean, I’m glad you’re happy to have time to do all those things you want / need to do. 

  • try to still do a good job but not be personally invested.  it takes a lot off your shoulders then.

  • Time to dust off the resume! Good luck on your search!

  • A great martial artist was once asked what he would automatically do in the event that he was startled, and so not know what to do. He replied that he would take a pace forwards.

    Looking costs nothing. Look.

  • @consignedhearts111 - I do take a lot of this personally even though I should know better – thanks for advice.

    @CareyGLY - thanks Carey – it’s always good to hear from you.

    @darkoozeripple - that sounds like a great idea…. so simple and obvious.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *