March 15, 2014

  • The Last Walk

    I was at a hospice recently to attend a service.  It was my first time there although my sister has been there a few times.  We were there to attend a remembrance service to honour those that have passed away recently.  The service was held at the front lobby which the emcee described as a sacred place.  There were names of those who have passed on a large banner against the wall.  While my dad passed away at home, the hospice provided support for us.

    After the service, I chatted with someone who lost her husband.  She told me this was a very special place.  It was small (only 1 floor) and there is a volunteer staff that cook homestyle meals daily.  She talked a bit about the wonderful staff and referenced back to the lobby as sacred and special.  I thought about all the names on the large banner and figured that was what she meant.  She then said the hospice’s philosophy could be summed up with this: “You come in through the front door and you leave by the front door.”  When someone dies at the hospice, the body is carried through the front door.   The staff wait at the front lobby with candles and there is a simple ceremony.   There isn’t a back door where death is quietly ushered away.

    I never thought about death in those terms before.  It’s not an easy subject to write or to read about.  Maybe there’s a lot more on my mind than I want to admit to myself.

Comments (12)

  • All these thoughts will simmer for a while, and you will be able to assimilate them better at a later date. I like the ceremony that the staff has when somebody dies!

  • Yes the thought and the compassion of hospice group is very good. I am sure you have a lot on your mind. One small post at a time, even if it be one single paragraph, will probably help heal your spirit in a big way Matt. Love and hugs.

    • I like the suggestion of one small post at a time. I want to get back into a regular habit of writing. Thank you.

  • A hospice was so good to my family while my mom was dying, and when she died.

    How nice that the one there had a service. That is very special. What amazing people work for hospice!

    Thank you for writing about this, Matt. It has been helpful to me tonight.

    Keep talking, keep writing. Keep getting your thoughts and feelings out.

    (((HUGS)))

  • The rituals and ceremonies of death help us in moving on and make peace. Do you agree?

  • hugs* feel free to contact me to talk :)

  • i have never thought of that myself. i think that is a good policy. to embrace the passing of someone dear and to respect those who had experienced the said occasion.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *