March 19, 2010

  • Food

    I've been baking quite a bit of whole wheat muffins lately.  I found a recipe from the New York Times I had a bag of whole wheat flour sitting in the fridge since the fall.  The recipe calls for 1/2 cup of buttermilk.  The first carton of buttermilk I got was full of lumps.  I've only tried buttermilk once when I was a kid and didn't like it.  I substituted regular milk and in later variations - soy milk.  It also calls for melted butter.  I used that for the first batch but substituted canola oil for the subsequent batches.

    Carrot muffins
      

    Pumpkin and walnut muffins

    Blueberry and walnuts

    It also works well with banana and walnuts.  I also toss in a bit of yogurt and vanilla extract.  I'm not crazy about the sugar.  It calls for 3/4 cup to 1 cup.  I've been keeping it at just a bit below 3/4 cup. 

    My bf made congee for me one day.  I topped it with fried onions,
    parsley, green onions and lots of fried dough (yeow tew).

    Beef stew - this is relatively easy to make and I don't have to babysit it.

    I made this simple dish from chicken, mushrooms, Chinese sausage and ginger. 
    The chicken was marinated in corn starch, sesame seed oil, pepper and soy sauce.
    I partially cooked the chicken in a pan, added the mushrooms and sausage.   It finished
    cooking in the rice cooker.  I added finely diced ginger.  The water from the mushroom
    was used to cook the rice as well (strain it first though).  I steamed some baby bak choi as
    a side dish.  Top with green onions and oyster sauce.  It's relatively simple
    and fast on a work night. 

Comments (26)

  • OMG that looks good. If you ever want a GF, pick me...K? lol

  • @macphoto - hahaha... thanks for the rec. 

  • That's an interesting dish you've created, it sounds like it would taste very good.

    Did you make those yeow tew yourself?

  • all the food looks very yummy, and I think you probably enjoy the very special congee the most, right?  It has been a long long time since I last tasted fried dough.  Man, I am hungry for some now.  Glad to hear you are feeling better enough to think of food. :)  

  • Great muffins! I like your lower-calorie/fat substitutions. What happens if you don't add any sugar at all? A banana muffin doesn't really need sugar, does it?

  • @arenadi - nope, he got it from one of the Chinese supermarkets.  Interestingly enough, the week before we were watching a TV show from Hong Kong.  One of them featured this guy who makes yeow tew.  That's all he does and he's been doing it for decades.  It was kinda touching story actually. 

    @stevew918 - yeah, thanks.  I feel better.  There are days when I just feel kinda blue.

    @Senlin - if the banana is really ripe then I know I can cut back on the sugar.  The batch I made last night had about 2/3 cup of sugar.  I will try it without sugar.  I don't like sugary drinks and have my coffee without sugar so I don't think it'll be a big adjustment for me.  I also add wheat germ as well. 

  • Dude, it's 10PM and I'm effing hungry after reading this blog!

  • @kachino - hahaha... thanks.  It's not too late to grab a late night snack.  

  • just had dinner.. so I am immune to those yummy pics! wakakaka!

  • @ZenPaper - "wakakaka"?  hahahaha...  I'll catch you next time. 

  • it's 1 am, i just had a huge dinner around 10 pm and now i want some muffins.  oink.  congee and stew are really high on my list of favorites.  i'll take those now too.  ahhhhh.

  • Love the substitutions in the muffins. I love muffins all kinds but don't like baking lol. Congee and the stew when are you going to cook or send some to me!!

  • Nice ... can I join? 

  • I remember I was listening to Dan Savage one time and he mentioned that his partner specifically requested that he would never reveal their personal life on air.

    He said that's why he's so successful.

    It's so rare that your boyfriend makes an appearance on this blog

    The congee looks great! *applauds to Matt's boyfriend*

  • @ElusiveWords - Seriously man, post these kind of posts around supper time or in the afternoon ... In the EDT region of course. Who cares about the other time zones right? ;) . JOKE!

  • i want those muffins!

  • wow! you both are great cooks! =)

  • Matt, when I come to Toronto, I am going to be in your kitchen the whole time and learn from you. Man! All those dishes look so yummy.

  • The last dish looked really good! I love those sausages, although they're quite greasy!

  • @piyapong - now I know when to post my food entries. hahahaha

    @Fatcat723 - I think the US Postal service will frown on congee being sent through the mail.

    @TheLatinObserver - sure... those whole wheat muffins have a lot of fibre, man - they really cleaned out my system.

    @Wangium - well, he wants total anonymity.  So I think the food pics are ok...

    @kachino - I'm gonna keep posting them every time the Leafs win.  (hmm... this might not be a good idea). 

    @rudyhou - come and get it!

    @onmovement - he does more with lobsters and crab.  I can't bring myself to kill those critters.

    @ZSA_MD - hahaha.... the pictures look good but the taste might be different.

    @yang1815 - I always chuckle at your one word comments. 

    @CurryPuffy - actually these sausages had lower fat content.  There aren't those big chunks of fat that you get with the regular sausages. 

  • True you cannot sent it in the mail but you and your bf can come and visit here. Then you can cook it fresh!!!!

  • i want those muffins for my 30th birthday!! hohohoho

    but well i have a chocolate muffin for my 29th birthday :) hohohosay happy birthday to fufu :)

  • @ElusiveWords - So no more food posts until the end of the season??? ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *